Chicken Bog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I've made this 4 times so far and this is a good recipe, but I have made a few changes along the way. First, know that a well-flavored stock is the secret to a tasty bog. Second, use chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken. The thighs have a little more fat (which lets face-it....adds more flavor to the stock) they cook a little faster, and they are easier to debone. Dont worry about using exactly 6 cups of water. Just throw the chicken in a stock pot and completely cover the chicken with water... if you want extra stock to save for future recipes use more water. I do add salt,pepper, and onion to the water, but I throw the bouillon cubes in also at this point. You can add additional spices to your tasting ( I use some poultry seasoning) but honestly salt and pepper is all you need. I follow the recipe after this, but I do OMIT the italian seasoning. You don't need it. Not for chicken bog. Oh, I also use a whole lb of sliced sausage. We like our bog extra sausagey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I am from SC and this recipe is authentic. VERY yummy for the whole family (even the kids!) The rice is very moist but not mushy. It is also a low cost meal that doesn't take much attention to prepare. I have made this from scratch with a whole chicken and also with a fully cooked rotisserie chicken...both ways are delicious. If you want to cut down on the time, buy a cooked chicken and pick the meat off discarding the skin. Cover the carcass with water, Italian seasoning, onion, celery, and carrots and simmer uncovered for several hours until the liquid is reduced to the amount called for in the recipe. Strain out and discard all the solids and you are left with rich, healthy and inexpensive broth which is what really "makes" this meal. Although, can broth could be used if you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I live in Conway, SC. I have grown up on bog and I assure you, the Italian seasoning is delicious! It is not normal but it tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Very easy and delish. Next time I will substitute the Italian seasoning with poultry seasoning for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was good minus the Italian Seasoning. This originated in low country South Carolina, and it is a favorite staple. However it should be kept simple not fancied up with Italian Seasoning. All you need is salt, pepper, some accent seasoning and maybe a little of lawry seasoning. I hate when someone takes what is designed to be a good simple recipe and change and try to fancy it up to death
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I learned of this dish from "Welcome to Myrtle Manor", I went by this recipe with only one exception. I used 1 tablespoon of freshly opened italian seasoning instead of the recommended 2 tablespoons. The dish was still overwhelmed by the taste of the italian seasoning. I would strongly advise others to try 1 teaspoon instead. Otherwise this dish was a winner for me. Maybe next time that I make this I think I am going to try a couple of bay leaves in place of the italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Jamie Lopez Whitaker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
After reading all the reviews I made some changes to the recipe. I used two whole chicken breast (4 frozen breasts), one small onion slivered, 4 brats, 4 cups of water, and 3 teaspoons of chicken consume. I used seasoned salt, garlic, lemon pepper, and dill to my taste (I didn’t measure sorry). I brought all that pervious stuff to a boil. I removed the chicken and added the rice (2 cups not instant). I shredded the chicken and added it to the rice mixture. I ended up only using one chicken breast (they were really large) and added a small can of mushrooms on my sons request. I have never had “Chicken Bog” before so I have nothing to compare this to, but it was awesome! My son ate 1 whole cup! I have to admit it was good! I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I found this while searching for a non-tomato-based jambalaya, and WOW! This was delicious! I routeinely purchase rotisserie chickens at costco, shred the meat, and freeze it in 2-cup portions. I used 2cups of shredded rotisserie chx for this recipe, and I used two quart sized boxes of low-sodium chicken stock. Per other reviews, I did not add any Italian seasoning. With these changes, the dish needed no salt, and was delicious; it fed our family of 4 (2 adults, and 12 & 14yo) plenty, with leftovers for another meal. Served with a large salad doused with balsamic vinaigrette, fresh mushrooms and avocado slices, and it was requested for another meal. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I never knew how to make this until I tried this recipe. Boy oh boy is it good! It's my kids' favorite. I do put a splash of Texas Pete in mine, but other than that, I follow this to a T. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. The only changes I made were to leave out the italian seasoning and to use 2 lbs of chicken thighs instead of a whole 3 lb chicken. It turned out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States