Chicken Bog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I used this recipe on a catering for 100 people...They LOVED it. I live in S.C. so we know a real good bog and this is a real good bog! The only thing I would change is using a product like "Better Than Bullion" instead of the cube stuff. Way to go Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This recipe was so good and so easy. The only things I changed were adding one boullion cube while the chicken was boiling and halfing the italian seasoning. Thanks Holly for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
When you first taste this it seems as if there is too much Italian seasoning, but as you continue to eat it, it just becomes part of the excellent flavor of the dish. My only objection is that it is too salty. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This is now a husband and family favorite! Easy and tasty, I add cajun sausage for a little "ooomph!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTAL7PISTOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
The flavour is wonderful and it's SO easy! Instead of rice you could use potatoes. Carrots are really good in this too. I also doubled the amount of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Tastes just like a gumbo my nieghbor made... One of the best recipes I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
After reading other reviews, I decided not to include the Italian seasoning and just used salt and pepper and it was delicious. A definite southern dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is really good. I didn't use Italian Seasoning, but I did use Old Bay, minced garlic, and linguica sausage. I also used chicken breasts that I baked covered with bacon for extra flavor instead of boiling, and then crumbled and sprinkled the cooked bacon over each serving and passed the fresh ground pepper and sea salt. Served with buttermilk biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyShelluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This recipe was great.I read the reviews and omitted the Italian seasoning .I gave the chicken bog to my son's girlfriend to taste, seeing she was born and raised in South Carolina.She said it tasted like her Grandma's.That to me was the true test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States