Chicken Bog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I grew up in coastal SC and this is a fall and winter staple. I couldn't give this recipe all the stars, although it is a good place to start for beginners. But on the downside, the Italian Seasoning is a u-turn in the wrong direction from the roots of this dish. I use about 2 lbs of meat- I generally use boneless skinless chicken thighs. To your biggest stock pot add the chicken. If you’re using a whole chicken just cover it so that there is about 2 inches of water above the chicken. If you’re using parts use enough water so that it would cover the chicken even if you had double the amount of meat in the pot. Then add two halved onions, 2 carrots and 2 celery ribs cut so that they submerge about 10 whole cloves of garlic 2-4 bay leaves and 2 tbls black whole peppercorns and salt (½ tsp salt/cup water). Then boil…3 hours should do the trick. When you’re done cooking the meat scoop out the meat and put it in a bowl and shred it when it is cool enough. Throw out the aromatics – all that should be left is the broth – no need for bouillon or canned broth. If you used a whole chicken, you may want to skim off the fat. Measure your broth and then use the correct amount of rice. Put the chicken back in the pot with the broth, put in a diced link of (cooked) smoked sausage on top of the chicken and put the rice on top of the sausage and bring it to a boil. Cover it, reduce the heat to simmer and cook 20 minutes. Stir well and taste- add a little pepper or salt and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
I'm from SC and have tried to make this many times with no success. This recipe worked and the whole family loved it. I did leave out the Italian seasoning and added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I misunderstood Holly's directions. DO NOT boil for 30 minutes. I thought she meant boil for 30 minutes then turn to low. I only boiled it for about 10 minutes on med-high heat and the rice burnt to the bottom and the whole dish tastes like smoke. I assume now she means bring to a boil then simmer for 30 minutes. If I had done this, I think it would have turned out great (I also omitted the italian seasoning, my husband said that is not how it is normally made) I am sure most of you seasoned cooks knew what she meant, but I am not, so for all of you non-professionals I burned the rice for you so now you do not have too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I live in SC and with a couple tweaks, this is just like what the locals make. When I boil the chicken I add a little olive oil, herbs, and salt/pepper to the water. We like ours with more rice so I increased to 1 1/2 cups rice and 4 1/4 cups of chicken broth. As others have stated, make sure you bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce heat to low and cover for 30 minutes (don't peak). The rice turns out perfect this way. Omit the Italian seasoning - a little salt and pepper to taste is all that is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I used this recipe on a catering for 100 people...They LOVED it. I live in S.C. so we know a real good bog and this is a real good bog! The only thing I would change is using a product like "Better Than Bullion" instead of the cube stuff. Way to go Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
All it tasted like was Italian Seasoning. I only used half of what the recipe called for and it was still just overpoweringly flavored like Italian Seasoning. I live in South Carolina and I've had it many times (in cafeterias and in friends' homes), and it has never tasted remotely like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I love Chicken Bog so much, and it truly is a regional recipe. I'm from Greenville SC & know it from my SIL who grew up in Florence SC. I was @ work in Clearwater FL one year and said I was bringing Chicken Bog for our Christmas Dinner. One of the guys said, "How do you know about that? I never knew anyone who knew what that is". He had been stationed at Parris Island and a friend's GM made it for him. He was delerious when I brought it in. He was a big guy and loved him some CB!! I love it with the little maple (or plain) breakfast sausages. Oh yeah, no self-respecting Southerner would use Italian Seasoning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I first had chicken bog made by a friend from South Carolina. This recipe is better than hers. Only complaint, too salty. I omitted the salt and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This recipe was so good and so easy. The only things I changed were adding one boullion cube while the chicken was boiling and halfing the italian seasoning. Thanks Holly for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My whole family really enjoyed this dish. The changes I made: used approx 4lbs drumsticks, 2 cups rice and omitted sausage. I only used 1 tbsp Italian seasoning and think that 2 tbsp would have been complete overkill. I also omitted the chicken bouillon as the tbsp of salt provided plenty of flavor. I used all of the water left from boiling the chicken and it was just about perfect for the 2 cups of rice. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMM2000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States