Chicken Bog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I omitted th Italian seasoning-my ex from SC never used that. I did add sliced up hard boiled eggs like he did and used jalepeno ring sausage in it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
...mmm...tastes like Carolina. I changed this recipe a little. I used 1lb of andouille sausage to spice up the bog a bit. I used 6 cups of broth and two cups of rice (this is a great leftover). I also sliced some baby carrots lengthwise and threw them in the pot for color. This is genuine hurricane food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Wo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Omit the salt, boullion cubes and reduce the Italian seasonings by at least half and then double the rice with the correct additional chicken stock and don't forget the black pepper. You'll then have what is served at most all community fund raisers in the Pee Dee area
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I first had chicken bog made by a friend from South Carolina. This recipe is better than hers. Only complaint, too salty. I omitted the salt and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Bog-o-riffic!! This was delicious!! I omitted the italian seasoning, added salt, pepper, garlic powder and chopped celery. I baked it in the oven for step #3 for 1 1/2 hrs at 350*. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I misunderstood Holly's directions. DO NOT boil for 30 minutes. I thought she meant boil for 30 minutes then turn to low. I only boiled it for about 10 minutes on med-high heat and the rice burnt to the bottom and the whole dish tastes like smoke. I assume now she means bring to a boil then simmer for 30 minutes. If I had done this, I think it would have turned out great (I also omitted the italian seasoning, my husband said that is not how it is normally made) I am sure most of you seasoned cooks knew what she meant, but I am not, so for all of you non-professionals I burned the rice for you so now you do not have too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
My chicken bog recipe is a bit more complex so I wanted to try this one that had so many great reviews yet seemed so simple! Perhaps my changed ruined it but it didn't come out well for me. Couple changes. I had 3 lbs of chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken. Not sure if this leads to more meat but 1 cup of rice didn't seem like enough so I added 3/4 cup more rice and the proper ratio of additional chicken broth. Didn't have sausage. The rice came out too wet.. I even cooked for 1/2 hour (steadily stirring) to try to dry it out, but still too moist for me. I did however realize that working with chicken thighs is sooo much easier so at least something good came out of my experience! Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Wow! This dish is fabulous! I was a little leary about the time it takes to make it, but it's well worth it. I, too, upon reading the reviews ommitted the italian seasoning and it has tasted 'just right'. I've already made it twice in two weeks! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I live in North Carolina, and had never heard of Chicken Bog, but this was excellent. My picky teenagers ate two helpings. I skipped the italian seasoning, and used seasoning salt instead, but it still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
When you first taste this it seems as if there is too much Italian seasoning, but as you continue to eat it, it just becomes part of the excellent flavor of the dish. My only objection is that it is too salty. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States