Chicken Bog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I grew up in coastal SC and this is a fall and winter staple. I couldn't give this recipe all the stars, although it is a good place to start for beginners. But on the downside, the Italian Seasoning is a u-turn in the wrong direction from the roots of this dish. I use about 2 lbs of meat- I generally use boneless skinless chicken thighs. To your biggest stock pot add the chicken. If you’re using a whole chicken just cover it so that there is about 2 inches of water above the chicken. If you’re using parts use enough water so that it would cover the chicken even if you had double the amount of meat in the pot. Then add two halved onions, 2 carrots and 2 celery ribs cut so that they submerge about 10 whole cloves of garlic 2-4 bay leaves and 2 tbls black whole peppercorns and salt (½ tsp salt/cup water). Then boil…3 hours should do the trick. When you’re done cooking the meat scoop out the meat and put it in a bowl and shred it when it is cool enough. Throw out the aromatics – all that should be left is the broth – no need for bouillon or canned broth. If you used a whole chicken, you may want to skim off the fat. Measure your broth and then use the correct amount of rice. Put the chicken back in the pot with the broth, put in a diced link of (cooked) smoked sausage on top of the chicken and put the rice on top of the sausage and bring it to a boil. Cover it, reduce the heat to simmer and cook 20 minutes. Stir well and taste- add a little pepper or salt and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I grew up in coastal SC and my grandmother would often make Chicken Bog. I've tried to get her recipe, but she's one of those cooks who doesn't use a recipe - just "a little bit of this and a pinch of that." So, I decided to try this recipe, though I totally omitted the Italian seasoning and instead used a lot of black pepper. I also omitted the onion, as my grandmother does not use this and my husband doesn't like onion in his food. This turned out great! My husband, who is usually a tough critic when it comes to my trying to replicate granny's dishes, said that it was as good as hers! I served it with coleslaw, as my grandmother does. Tip: my grandfather told me not to stir the rice alot while it was cooking because it would make it mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
very good. thoughi thought it could've used much more rice & less bouryane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bake 4 fun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Being I too am from Horry County SC i can tell you this sounds like a good recipe... BUT i would omit the italian seasoning and add plenty of pepper as one reviewer said. I use smoked sausage for my chicken bog. The origins of this recipe date to civil war times when soldiers had one pot to cook everything in. A big ole stock pot! I have used a large pack of chicken thighs for this recipe as well. I also use bagged rice such as mahatma brand for this recipe. I personally have never used boullion in my recipe and just put everything in one pot. I have even left the bones in it when cooking it. Salt and alot of pepper are the key! Its not a pretty recipe and i always leave the fat in there! its suppose to be a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mawbell3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a great base for a recipe. I followed the directions loosely and it turned out very good. I used 2 chicken breasts, boiled them in the water with a chicken boullion cube and the onion. I also used brown rice instead of white, so I had to put in an extra 1/2 cup of broth. I cooked everything with 1 more cube of bouillion, about half the Italian Seasoning and some pepper. It cooked for an hour and was very good. I think next time I make it, I'll only use 1 bouillion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe is much more simple than what you'd find on a google search, which is what I liked about it. I was always scared to make chicken bog from hearing horror stories, but living in SC since I was 12, I've fallen in love with it and decided I'd give it a shot. All you need to do is prepare rice with the ratio of 1 1/3 water to every 1/2 cup (according to Uncle Ben), let boil, and simmer between 15 and 20 minutes. I personally like the rice around 18, and maybe throw in a chicken bouillon. VERY impt is to salt and pepper the rice generously WHILE cooking. The rice has to be spicy! I cheated a little and just boiled some breasts instead of a whole chicken but it turned out awesome on the first try! Adding a bouillon or two to the chicken while boiling helps for flavor also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was really good. I did use canned low-sodium chicken broth and 2 cans of cooked chicken (mainly because that is what I had on hand) but it still turned out great. I used about 2 1/2 t. of Old Bay Seasoning in place of the italian spices. It was delicious. Very filling and plenty of flavor. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I left out the italian seasoning and upped the pepper. Instead of using italian sausage, I used hot breakfast sausage cooked and crumbled up. Leave out the salt. The boulion has plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I have not even made this yet...but growing up in Horry County, SC (Myrtle Beach / Conway)tells me that those of you that omitted the italian seasoning and opted for plenty of black pepper are Low Country SMART :) Use the word "Chicken Bog" at parties to get people started....if you're not from Horry County, or know someone who is....you've probably never had or heard of this simple yummy addicting dish either...try it....you almost can't miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Good, basic flavors here. A little time consuming but worth it. We only used 1/2 the italian seasoning and that was enough. I think the full amount would have been overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States