Chicken Bog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. The only changes I made were to leave out the italian seasoning and to use 2 lbs of chicken thighs instead of a whole 3 lb chicken. It turned out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight and the family loved it. Took some shortcuts by using Swanson chicken broth and a traditional rotisserie chicken (deboned, meat shredded, and skin discarded). I added a rib of celery chopped coarsely like the onion, a dash of red pepper flakes, black pepper to taste, 2 tbsp of minced garlic to broth, and ONLY 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning which was plenty. Also added 2 tbsp of melted butter when I added the rice to cook. Easy on the salt because of the existing saltiness of the broth and bullion cubes. I let the meats, seasonings, and broth simmer together for at least an hour before adding 2 cups of rice. Stirred at 10 min intervals and let it cook on simmer for 30 mins. It was great! Served with fried okra, cornbread, and cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
this turned out great i also put a cup of hamburger meat in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Made without the italian seasonings based on other reviews. Also, by taking some time and cooking the chicken longer to create the broth, I did not need bouillon. Otherwise, I kept largely to the recipe. I can see where you could add other items to provide more color and different flavors. For the sausage, I used leftover spicy italian brat style sausages that I had grilled a day before -- added a very nice flavor to the dish. This dish was actually better the second day, as the flavors mingled more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My husband loved it, he's from South Carolina. I tweaked it a bit though to fit his taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I lived in the Myrtle Beach area of the "Low Country" for 4 years and learned how to cook this while there. Yes, definately omit the Italian seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gglorybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit and wound up with a great dinner for me and hubby using up several leftover odds and ends in the fridge. I scaled the recipe to 2. I had a few small chicken tenders so I poached them in chicken stock I had recently made and then shredded them. I saved one cup of the poaching stock. I had a quarter onion and a few chunks of yellow and orange bell pepper. I sauteed these in oil then added a half cup of rice (an increase on the recipe). Then I added the chicken stock. I had a cooked garlic sausage in the fridge so I sliced and threw that in the stock. After reading the reviews, I decided to use Cajun spice instead of Italian seasoning, and also added some oregano. No need for bouillon. Brought to a boil then dropped to low and simmered 20 minutes. Thanks for a good dinner and helping clean out my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
As other reviewers said, I left out the Italian seasoning and just used salt and pepper. It was awesome! My 4-year-old gobbled it up, and we were fighting over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Back WAY off on the italian seasoning, but don't omit it completely because it enhances the flavor of the sausage. No need to salt it in addition to the boullion and broth. This is SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The Italian Seasoning ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States