Chicken Biscuit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Had some leftover chicken so thought give it a go. I used the same ingredients, but in different order, I cooked the onions, with part of the butter, added the veg shortly after and cooked it . Once cooked added rest of butter, put flour in and made a roux. Then added broth, and milk and meat. Added bit of parsley and pepper for bit of taste as well. Put it in casserole dish, I made top as per he recipe, but didn't do biscuits, I mixed it up, rolled it out and put a full top on it.......was really good. OH TURN DOWN THE HEAT. That has to be a typo, at that temp half will burn and other half raw. I cooked it at 375 for about 20-25 minutes and it was gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I, personally, thought this has a great flavor, but my 18 year old wouldn't even try it, my husband didn't like it, and my 9 year old only ate about a half portion. So, I don't see this recipe going into our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I usually use 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies and also add poultry seasoning, thyme and oregano along with the pepper and a little salt to the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I felt there was too much onion flavor, a little over powering. I'll adjust next time. I used my own go to biscuit "bisquick" mix for the biscuits, I also used mix veggies instead of just carrots and peas, so it would more of a traditional pot pie. The flavor is nice, just cut the onions by 1/2 so you still get the flavor, but not overpowering. Also, if you add 2 small cubed potatoes to this boil them a bit first in the broth to help soften ahead of time. Some recipes you can just add in, but since this one thickens before the oven and only bake 12 or so mins, the potatoes, no matter how small won't cook all the way through...duh! Oops! LOL Also, I think this would do better baking at a slightly lower temp, 425 or so, the biscuits browned to quickly before the filling started bubbling. Slower is better, especially if you add potatoes. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was a hit for my family. I made it exactly as the recipes calls for . The only thing I changed was I baked it about 5-6 minutes longer after reading some of the reviews. The biscuits came out perfect for me. I did hesitate and almost used frozen biscuits, but decided to give this recipe a full shot!! I'm so glad that I did because it was perfect for us. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbass505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I really loved it! Easy, quick and really hit the spot if you want delicious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My family and I really like this one. I did take the advise from another , and cook it at 425 for 40 minutes. I have never tried it at 450 for 20, but I know 425 for 40 minutes has been working just great. I have made this recipe quite a few times, and I like to add some fresh chopped garlic, and cook chicken bite size chunks in the butter garlic and onions. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this last night! It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
OK, 5 stars after minor tweeking .... I added thyme, oregano, and grated fresh garlic. For the biscuit, I used Glutin Free Bisquick. Hubby and I are totally jazzed with eating a biscuit topped casserole since we are (trying to be) GF. This is comfort food!!! So easy. I will make this many times. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States