Chicken Biscuit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
We thought this was a really tasty recipe...and I was THRILLED to not use fake canned soup or biscuits!! Followed the recipe to a T except to substitute real butter for shortening in the biscuit dough. I didn't have any problems with soggy dough. I put together the dry ingredients for the biscuits before doing anything else. Then when the chicken mixture was ready (and hot), I mixed the milk into the dry biscuit ingredients and quickly put on top and got it into the oven. Baked at 450F for 15 minutes (we are at high altitude so that works good here). Will definitely make this again...great way to use up left over roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was delicious and will be my go-to pot pie recipe, but it needed some spicing up to be 5 stars. Followed directions exactly except: added 2 stalks celery and 1-2 carrots with onions and 2 garlic cloves, 3/4 tsp each thyme and rosemary with milk and broth. I did also add an extra 1/2 c of broth and it was still very thick with great texture. From other reviewers I learned to put the biscuit topping on very hot stew and leave space between the dollops of biscuit so they will cook through. The whole family raved about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Would've gotten 5 stars if the biscuits hadn't started to burn on top. I used a mixed frozen vegetable bag so there were also green beans and corn which was good. I cut back on the onion to a half onion and added garlic salt to the vegetable gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
A good comfort food dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Double it every time because it goes quickly. Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Delicious! I added sage, thyme, onion powder, and garlic powder and I cooked it ten minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I doubled this and cooked it longer. My kids devoured it an asked for it weekly. It was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
It was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but I had to put back in the oven for another 10 min at 350 degrees because the biscuit didn't feel like it was fully cooked. Also, next time, I think I'll use only half an onion and add more veggies... Other than that, it was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Had some leftover chicken so thought give it a go. I used the same ingredients, but in different order, I cooked the onions, with part of the butter, added the veg shortly after and cooked it . Once cooked added rest of butter, put flour in and made a roux. Then added broth, and milk and meat. Added bit of parsley and pepper for bit of taste as well. Put it in casserole dish, I made top as per he recipe, but didn't do biscuits, I mixed it up, rolled it out and put a full top on it.......was really good. OH TURN DOWN THE HEAT. That has to be a typo, at that temp half will burn and other half raw. I cooked it at 375 for about 20-25 minutes and it was gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States