Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
hey I jst made my 1st biryani wid ur recipe n u no what it turned out to be awsome.. thanks a million..i never thought making biryani was so easy.. once more thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
While this recipe is time consuming, it is well worth it! I made a couple changes, I added cashews and raisins when adding the chicken broth, and I used chicken wings and drumsticks with the bone-in instead of cutting up the whole chicken. This is easier, and I wanted to avoid dry pieces of chicken in other biryani dishes that I have had. The chicken came out extremely tender, it was falling off the bone. Absolutely delicious! The flavor is mild for the Indian palatte, so if you like it spicy add more spice, but overall this recipe is a definite keeper. This would be a great dish to make for a lot of people as the quantity is large. Also be sure to use basmati rice with this it is so aromatic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
It was magnificent! the most delicious biryani i ever [made] and ate! it was perfect. fortunately, all my procedure went good . thanks a lot NAZIA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was pretty good. I think I messed up in chopping the onions too finely as the mixture was quite liquid-y. And I think cooking the rice on the lowest setting on my stove was too low as it ended up being mushy as well. But texture aside, the flavors were mild, but very nice. I would season the potatoes & chicken a bit next time, or dice them a bit smaller, as they were a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Wow!! This was amazing. I made it for a bunch of friends and made very few modifications. I used boneless skinless drumsticks which I beleive were the perfect choice for this dish as they had enough dark meat to stay plenty moist. The only change I amde was to add raisins and cashews during the rice cooking stage but that was only due to personal preference. I didn't find the recipe particularly time consuming. I started making it 2 hours prior to the time I wanted to serve it and it was ready right on time, during the 2 long cooking stages there isn't anything to do except set the table, pour some wine and enjoy the delicious smells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Very good; really reflects the complex interplay of spices and flavors that is biryani. But I can't give it five stars because, while not a difficult recipe, it is very time consuming: it took me 2.5 hours from beginning chopping to putting it on the table. (I imagine I'll be faster next time, but it's probably still nearly two hours in raw cooking time. I'm trying to think of ways to do this faster. If I come up with something significant I'll try to remember to update this review.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I've never tasted indian food before, even if I came from it's neighbouring country, so I decided to give this a try. I didn't wanted it to be too dry, so I doubled the amount of yoghurt (actually I think I dumped in 1/2 cups of yoghurt, while I reduced the meat to using only 2 chicken breast-halves). After tasting the gravy, I added crushed corriander, sugar, and garam masala but that was my own preference. The end result was delicious!! I served it over nasi kuning, which is an Indonesian yellow rice dish. Giving it 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I haven't made thsi recipe, but I am an Indian and both my husband and I loovveee Biryani and cook often. If you want to know the secret to fast biryani cooking, go to any Indian/Pakistani grocery store and buy "Shan" spice mix for it, its so easy adn really good. I can't say the best, but its so much easier than doing everything that Biryani recipe makes you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
this recipe is absolute rubbish , excuse me but it is not biryani its more like a mixture of tahiri and pullao
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States