Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was really good and yeah a little more work then I usually do for dinner. I added a little more of all spice and added marsala too. I added the spuds back with the chicken to cook them thru. Used ground cloves and no salt and used canned tomato, every thing else the same. The Authentic Biryani on this site is good too, by su. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I was somewhat disappointed by this recipe after putting in about 2 hours of preparation. The potatoes were not completely cooked (had to pick them out and microwave them for a minute or two), the chicken didn't absorb any flavor and was very dry, and some of the rice wasn't cooked all the way either. I was disappointed by how bland it was in spite of all the spices used. It was all around okay but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I used the recipe for the chicken but not the rice since I used a rice cooker. I also used chicken thighs instead of breasts because it's what I had. I did use all the spices and this was very tasty!.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
it came out very delicious. the only problem was that there was way too much liquid and it didn't reduce down so i had to remove it but once that was solved my family and i enjoyed it very much =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Even though I didn't have chili powder It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Delicious. I did add some chicken broth to the mix though since I used vanilla yogurt; had to balance the flavours. So good, especially with Indian Saffron Rice from this site and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
great recipe! it was a little too mild for me, and considering i'm pretty sensitive to hotness.. i'd add some more chili powder i also added peas, carrots, and red bell peppers which i thought was a great touch. (the bell peppers especially gave it a refreshing crunchiness)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Amazing!!! This recipes took FOREVER to make! But it is lots of fun if you have good wine, music and company while you make it-:) Preparation and Eating was a totally spiritual experience:) Certainly a dish I will reserve for special occasions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe - it was easy to make, prepared quickly, and is tasty. Next time, I will pre-wash my rice to avoid some of the pastiness. I used ingredients that I had on-hand which included: Boneless, skinless chicken thighs - I'd recommend thighs over breast, or bone-in pieces (even though most authentic Biryani seems to contain bone-in chicken). Ground cinnamon - since I had no sticks available, using ground cinn. did not detract in any way. Dried mint flakes instead of fresh - again, using dried mint had no negative effect. Ground ginger - no problem with this substitution. Sour cream instead of yogurt - another harmless substitution. I had no cardamom...it would have been nice, but it was fine without. Preparation - I prepped the potatoes as directed, then prepped the rice and chicken separately. I combined the chicken, potatoes, and rice at the very end to speed the process and keep the potatoes from getting too mushy. This was not exactly like the Biryani that I eat in restaurants, but was every bit as good in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
We love indian food, and found this recipe as a good starter. I have made it 2 or 3 times and have compared it with other biryani recipes I have found. I think if I had a biryani spice mix maybe that would kick it up a notch, but as it is, I would increase the cumin, ginger, and garlic as well as the clove. Other biryani's I have had have included cauliflower, carrots, peas, raisins and cashews and I include them in lieu of the potatoes. Since there is already rice, I don't see the need for another starch. I would also use ghee rather than oil. And last, I would use 3 or 4 tomatoes instead of only 2. I would look for a solution to the problem I had of cooking the rice, on a low setting, the rice at the top was crunchy and the rice at the bottom was soggy. Also, i like some heat in my indian food and this is completely without any spiciness to speak of...I would put a tsp of garam masala to give it some of the hot spice I anticipate when I eat indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States