Chicken Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe. This was my first attempt at Indian cuisine and it was delicious. It takes some time to prepare but the results are worth it. I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil and white rice for the basmati rice, but otherwise I followed the recipe as-is. My kids, who are both picky eaters, loved it. One mistake I made was using canned tomatoes--I added the entire contents of the can instead of draining the tomatoes first. This added excessive fluid to the gravy mixture resulting in longer cooking times before it would thicken. Next time I will drain and add the liquid only as needed. I bought fresh mint per the recipe and I'm glad I did--you can taste it in the baked dish and I think it really helps bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My husband is from Sind province, Pakistan. I've been cooking Pakistani/Indian dishes for 25 years. I thought I'd try this recipe. My family liked it, but not as much as the authentic style I usually make. This is more like a plou not biryani. I will make this again with a few variations. Instead of frying more onions while cooking the rice. I will add the spices and let them fry until fragrant then add the rice and the chicken stock. ( to tell you the truth, I will probably use water not stock) I will cook the rice until half done. Then in a new pot I will scoop 1/3 of the chicken mixture on the bottom. Add some fresh mint leaves and some fresh tomatoes slices on top. Then put 1/3 of the half-boiled rice on top. I will layer two more times ending with the rice on top. As someone noted you really need to cook the rice on medium heat or it will be soggy. That is why it is best to cook the rice separately half way then layer. At the end, when there is no more liquid left you can cover it with a couple paper towels or a cloth and then put the lid on top. That is when you simmer it on low temperature for 20 mins. That helps to remove more moisture and the rice will come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Excellent ! I changed the servings for two people (the salt was a little short). My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My guests really like this as lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Love this recipe, not spicy at all, I am able to make as spicy as I like. Great tasting, little time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Lovely Biryani. Used to eat this a lot at work many years ago when I was working for Indian people. Always wanted to try it for myself, so I tried this recipe. Only negative was that my potatoes was not cooked. Next time I'll add them while the sauce reduces. I'd rather have them overcooked, than not properly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I thought this was going to be difficult considering the amount of ingredients but decided to make it anyway. It was soooooo delicious i didn't believe i made it myself. Did some things differently though, u can check it out on www.judithaudu.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I didnt like the taste of this at all. Too salty, and something wierd that I cant put my finger on. Also, very little flavor for the amount of rice and meat. The biryanis I grew up with in South Africa make this one a complete non-contender. It tastes like a bland stew to me, and not at all like biryani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I haven't tried the exact recipe - but the technique REALLY helped me with my own biryani/curry/paella creation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzorro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Best Dish i have ever prepared.. I did not have any Saffron.. could not find it anywhere... still came out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States