Chicken Biryani, Hyderabadi Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is a sad instant version of Hyderabad's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
All in all a good recipe for a little bit of exotism. The amount of spices may look like LOTS but if you are gentle with the chile pepper it should suit any stomach. I had no trouble with the yoghurt. I had no ghee but added fresh butter slivers just before serving. Also I somehow missed the onions but shall definitively add some next time and yes well roasted before adding the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Curry leaves and curry spice (powder) are not the same thing. Curry leaves (Murraya koenigii) are also called Kari leaves and can be found at Indian/Asian grocery stores and have a lime smell to them. The best substitutes are bay leaves OR basil OR kaffir lime leaves (may be available at a Southeast Asian markets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is by far the best biryani recipe I have ever tried. The only change I made was to add a pinch of safron as it looked a bit pale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
just made this.. really enjoyable. I made some healthier changes. use brown basmati rice for eg but used all the required spices.. a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Couva, Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was a great easy recipe. I made a few adjustments. I decreased the ghee by about 1/2. I decreased the cloves to about 10 and the cardamom to about 4 and bay leaves to 3. I added a cinnamon stick, and 15 black peppercorns. I used fresh ginger and fresh garlic too. I did not use the green chiles bc the the kids wont eat them but the peppercorns gave it enough kick. I also added more salt. I added about a tablespoon of Shan Biryani spice mix too. Next time i think i will add a potato or two when i am cooking the onions. I used boneless chicken breasts too. It was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
When I read the recipe I was so excited to try it. Now I am just disappointed and have a big bowl of leftovers that may end up going to waste. Not a recipe that I will try again - way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I added a few extra spices: cardamom, turmeric, hing (asafetida) and left out the garlic. Also, I'm a vegetarian so I added chicken substitute, green peas, cauliflower and cashews. It's likely that my version is regionally confused but it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sepalm1770

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is more of a pulav with absolutely no spices incorporated so probably RK you might need to go back and ckeck because this is definately not hyderabadi biryani from indian standards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Fabulous! My Indian husband was craving a good home made biryani and this recipe made him very happy. I used 5 serrano peppers the first time and the heat was just right. I also added cashews and golden raisins. Yum! I made it a second time for the kids and only used one serrano pepper, it wasn't enough spice. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States