Chicken, Avocado and Mango Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
VERY good! Awesome variation from the typical chicken salads out there. I'd make sure to have very ripe mangos next time to offset the firmness of the diced avacados. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was pretty easy and yummy to make. The dressing was good if you used only a little bit, but it was easily overwhelming on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I was really surprised by how good this recipe turned out. I was a little skeptical of the blend of ingredients, but the sweetness of the mango blended nicely with the taste of the avocado and the mild spiciness of the dressing. Unfortunately my mango wasn't quite ripe and my avocado was a little TOO ripe, so I don't think my finished product lived up to this recipe's full potential, but it was so good that I have incentive to try again with better produce. I'm not much of a "salad guy" (though I'm trying) so my seal of approval and plan to try this one again says a lot. Next time I want to try it with spinach instead of lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made a few changes to this recipe. I nixed the brown sugar because mango is sweet enough on its own and seasoned the chicken first with chili powder, cayenne pepper and garlic then added some hot sauce to it. I diced some tomatoes, red onions and cilantro to add to the avocado and mango, added the lime juice and then topped with the chicken. Instead of iceberg lettuce which I find disgusting, I used spinach. Came out great. The spicy savory taste of the chicken was nicely juxtaposed with the sweetness of the mango and the buttery avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I really liked the dressing but I do not know what type of chili garlic sauce was used - I used the hot Asian type and used 3/4 of a tsp. I also added 2 T. Mango Chutney. Fabulous ! You can leaave out the chicken for a first course salad and add some thin slices of red bell pepper and for extra fun top with a little toasted sunflower seeds. Everyone loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Really love this dish. I shred the chicken up and toss it into the chopped lettuce (my family like it with Iceberg Lettuce) and if you don't have any mangoes, tinned mandarines are also nice with it too. I am not keen on the dressing, but my family and I love this dish with ranch dressing. A lovely meal in the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mairi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Very bold flavors. I loved the sweet/spicy combo of the dressing. I used simple grilled chicken - sliced thin on top of the salad and it worked out nicely. One important note is not to pour the entire batch of sauce over the top. A couple of drizzles should do, or the flavors of the salad are overpowered – more can be added as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Great salad. the dressing was too watery though. I added water chesnuts and breaded the chicken in panko crumbs then pan fried .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I thought this was great! I wanted it as a starter instead of a main so I left out the chicken and added banana instead - I was only making it for myself so converted it to 2 servings (one for tomorrow) for the sauce and eyed the fruit. It was delicious and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was so delicious, and healthy too. We grilled the chicken with a little seasoned salt and added it to the top of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

How to Make Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty, tangy chicken salad in three simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States