Chicken Avocado Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Boy am I glad I tried this recipe despite my initial doubts. I made my own pizza dough and used halved topping to make a 12" pizza, baked at 400F for 15 minutes and it was perfect. The avocado and cheese blended really nicely and the cherry tomatos are little pockets of flavor to bite in to. Will be making this many more times. The only thing I'd do differently (since I'm using raw pizza dough) is to slightly undercook the chicken first and let it fully cook with the rest of the pizza in the oven, otherwise it's a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was very very good. I did make a few changes. I added a small clove of garlic to the advocado mixture. I also had some bacon bits on hand, so I put them on the pizza. I also chopped up some roasted red pepper to add. I think without the pepper, it might not have been as flavorful, thus the 4 stars I gave it. I also used a full pizza crust (whole wheat) and cooked it in the oven instead of the broiler. It was awesome. Thanks for the idea. Really, you've inspired me, I am going to try a lot of new pizza ideas this way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
It's 2 of my favorite indulgences: guacamole & pizza, merging together to form a culinary party in my mouth. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I have made it a few times and it is always a hit with my family. I like to mix a little garlic powder in with the avocado mixture. I also sprinkle dried basil and oregeno on the top of the pizza with the cayenne pepper and I use mozarella cheese. This ends up looking and tasting like a high-end bistro pizza! My coworkers couldn't believe I made it and just HAD to have the recipe. It's just as good the next day as leftovers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this pizza, what a great twist! We crushed garlic into the avocado and cilantro mixture instead of rubbing it on the pizza crust. We also waited until the pizza was done cooking and sliced the tomatoes and put them on top. JUST EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This was great and did make for a light meal. We paired it with a nice light salad of romaine lettuce, the rest of the cherry tomatoes, some cucumber, and ranch dressing. The pizza looked beautiful and smelled delicious. The only thing is that I felt like it was missing some flavor, and I wanted to add something to give it a little more pizzaz but couldn't put my finger on what was "missing". Next time, I think I will try adding ground cumin or extra cilantro to the avocado mixture. I am also wondering if about half an onion chopped and pureed into the sauce would add some good flavor. I did find the pizza to be more flavorful the next day after the flavors had time to set. I also took advice from other reviewers and used uncooked, readymade dough for the crust. Added the ingredients to the uncooked crust and baked in oven for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Came out beautifully. Will definitely make again, just adding some extra flavors. Thanks for the recipe! My girlfriend loved it and was impressed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hsck6488
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
DELISH! I expanded on the recipe just a teensy bit. First, i cooked the chicken with a rub using cayenne powder, garlic salt, and sugar (pretty much whatever i had in my spice cabinet!), let it cool, and then shredded it with my hands. I used two 8-9 inch pizza crusts, that were actually cornmeal based. My avocados were a little hard, so i added olive oil and mashed them by hand. It was a bit "chunkier" -- but i liked it that way! i also added green onions, which i would say is an essential addition! I baked for 7 minutes and then broiled for 3 and voila! This was truely a yummy, unique dish that was easy to make. will DEFINITELY make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. My kids, even though they love avacado, didn't like the "sauce." If I made it for my kids again I would add a little less lime and cilantro, but I love it as is. We couldn't taste any garlic. I would either leave it out or add it into the sauce. I didn't add cayenne because of the kids, but can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I love avocados. But as a whole this pizza needed more flavor and was a little dry. I wished I had some ranch to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
My husband is very very picky and so I was surprised when he absolutely loved this pizza! I brought a piece to a co-worker today and she immediately asked for the recipe. It was delicious! My son thought it was just okay, but I think he would have loved it too if I had put the cayenne on it, which I left off. I used an already roasted chicken bought at the store (they're so cheap!) and next time I'll use a little more cilantro. I also used half Monterey Jack and half Mozzarella cheese, using about twice what the recipe called for. An amazingly easy recipe! Oh, and I only oiled one side of the pizza. Oiling both sides sounded messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States