Chicken Avocado Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
We love this recipe. Made a couple minor changes, substituted yogurt for the cream to cut some calories/fat) and omitted the almonds for personal taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
My husband isn't a huge chicken fan unless it is made a certain way. He liked this recipe and ate the leftovers too! I didn't have any sherry, so I used a dry white wine instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Loved it. Great flavor combinations. Good enough for company. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This one isn't going to make it into the rotation. I'd say we're fairly adventerous with our tastes, but nothing about this was really all that special. It didn't seem like a "casserole" to me really - we served it with pasta to utilize the sauce. The sauce was decent, but kind of ho-hum. The nuts in the dish didn't really add much other than calories. The avocados - I like them, but they seemed to get lost in the other flavors. I found this to be just very average and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I just made this recipe, just as written but cut in half. It was absolutely great! This one has gone onto my list of things to serve special guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This is a fantastic unusual recipe. We used a lower fat version by using benicol butter and fat free half and half. Great flavor and even my 9 year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
i served this to my family. They really liked it. Thanks for a good recipe to add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
When I first tried this recipe, I didn't like it. But I oddly found myself wanting seconds so I gave it a 4 and not a 3. Everyone in my family said it has way to much butter/oil. And to be honest, there was something else that just didn't seem right that I just couldn't put my finger on. I give it great points for being a change of pace and for good flavor, but still there was something just not right that nagged my husband and me for the entire dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Interesting! Chicken with gravy, but with a twist: spicy heat for a Southwestern kick; Grana cheese for an Italian twist; almonds and avocados for contrasting textures and flavors. It really worked. One person called it "housewifey." Overall, a unique, creative blend of flavors you might not think would go well together, but they did. When I make this again, I will probably go the "healthy" route. i.e. replace the cream with starchy "thickeners" that may be handy, and sautee with olive or soy oil rather than butter. To save time, you don't need to sautee chicken until done - you can brown quickly and then let the chicken finish cooking in the assembled dish when it is in the oven. Also, nothing beats home made chicken broth for extra flavor (defatted, low-sodium).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States