Chicken Avocado Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Interesting! Chicken with gravy, but with a twist: spicy heat for a Southwestern kick; Grana cheese for an Italian twist; almonds and avocados for contrasting textures and flavors. It really worked. One person called it "housewifey." Overall, a unique, creative blend of flavors you might not think would go well together, but they did. When I make this again, I will probably go the "healthy" route. i.e. replace the cream with starchy "thickeners" that may be handy, and sautee with olive or soy oil rather than butter. To save time, you don't need to sautee chicken until done - you can brown quickly and then let the chicken finish cooking in the assembled dish when it is in the oven. Also, nothing beats home made chicken broth for extra flavor (defatted, low-sodium).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
OK...well this was dinner tonight and it was awesome! I noted all the advise they other people had tried...I used half and half instead of cream (cut those calories!) Butter substitute...again we are heathly eaters here. Sliced the chicken so its smaller fillets. I used 3 mushroom mix pre cut in the produce section, gives great flavor rather than just using plan button mushrooms. Served with a little Motz. cheese on the side (boyfriend loves cheese. I cut the avacado into chunks and put it on top of the chicken with the mushrooms and put the sauce on top. Also served with fresh roasted red pepper brown rice. I would totally serve this again! Thanks for this recipe! Its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carie Albrecht

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This one isn't going to make it into the rotation. I'd say we're fairly adventerous with our tastes, but nothing about this was really all that special. It didn't seem like a "casserole" to me really - we served it with pasta to utilize the sauce. The sauce was decent, but kind of ho-hum. The nuts in the dish didn't really add much other than calories. The avocados - I like them, but they seemed to get lost in the other flavors. I found this to be just very average and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is amazing. Very rich-tasting! Our regular special-occasion meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was awesome! Though the gravy was just enough for 4 chicken breasts so I can't imagine it working for the 8 pieces it asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I just made this recipe, just as written but cut in half. It was absolutely great! This one has gone onto my list of things to serve special guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Preeettty good, I didn't have almonds so I crunched up some croutons and had that as my crunch factor, not as healthy but still good. There was just one thing missing in my opinion.. Garlic! I used it to season my chicken as I pan fried it, my mushrooms and a small amount in the sauce as well. I made it over jasmine rice and the turnout was successful. next time i might cook the rice and place that under the chicken to let the drippings do their thing. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I don't like mushrooms so I used onion and red pepper instead. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Looking for something differenct, I made this for dinner last night. It got RAVE reviews! My husband isn't hard to please, but is very hard to get a 5 star rating from. He said that this was 5 stars EASILY. I used less chicken & made more gravy. Also, lightly salt, peppered & garliced prior to browning - then used less salt in gravy. Tossed in a couple of dashes of red pepper, as well. This one is definitely going into our rotation, but I think that when the family is over, I'm going to make it more "casserole-y". I think I'll cube the chicken, then brown & follow the rest of the recipe like normal. The chunks of chicken in the delicious sauce can be served over a bed of brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Excellent! The only thing I changed was, after reading other reviews, I only used 4 chicken breast. I agree that it is not enough sauce for 8 breast. Adding this to my go to list. Wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States