Chicken Arroz Caldo (Chicken Rice Porridge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Authentic taste! I only had rotisserie chicken on hand, so I followed the recipe except added shredded chicken and drumstick (with bones) last half of cooking time. I also used half low sodium broth and half water to control saltiness after. Perfect for our entire family who was feeling under the weather--Our Filipino chicken soup remedy :) . I'm sure it would have tasted even better had I browned chicken wings and thighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbadpinay
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I followed the recipe as instructed...added turmeric powder for color and extra flavor. Would make it over and over! Thank you for easy and great comfort Filipino food recipe! It was a hit! No leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashli141
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Tastes just as good as my husband's family makes it! I used chicken breasts because that's what I had on hand, just cut them into pieces. I added slices of hard boiled egg on top like my family does. I've seen some people add safflower, I'll try that next time. I'm freezing half which I read online works for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was a very simple recipe to assemble and made for a delightful result. This was my first time cooking with glutinous sweet rice and I loved the way it thickened the soup just perfectly. Very lovely and easy chicken porridge recipe, thanks for sharing lola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Turned out so good! My mom always made it with more rice to make it less soupy so I added an extra cup and a half of rice. Takes me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaira Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I'm Filipino and grew up eating this dish. My parents don't measure their ingredients so it is nice to find this recipe. Followed the directions accordingly and tasted like my parents' dish. My parents enjoyed my cooking as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is just as delicious as my moms! I only made a few small changes which I remember from my mom's soup. I used chicken thighs instead of wings and seared the skin to make it crispy before I added it to the pot. I also added small diced carrots to the soup. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My wife is a bit squeamish so I simmered a leftover rotisserie chicken, after dinner, for 2 hours and used the broth the next day with deboned breast meat to make the dish. Next time I’ll throw in a few wings for daddy;{)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was wonderful! I used brown rice and chicken breasts because that's what I had on hand. Also I added some celery when it was close to being done cooking. We garnished it with cilantro, avocado, and green onions which complemented the dish nicely. This was such a great meal for a cold snowy day. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kidioko
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
What an easy and flavorful porridge. I made a batch for a family party and the easy adjustments helps a lot on AR. This is not a pretty dish but it is super yummy and kids love it but be careful of the bones. I use white pepper and bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States