Chicken Arroz Caldo (Chicken Rice Porridge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Easy to follow directions, easy to make and tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Arroz Caldo is my favorite filipino dish, hands down! My mother in law makes it, but she was recently out of town and I had a taste for it. So I found this recipe and it's even better than my mother in law's! I made another batch when she was on her way home and she and my father in law said it was better. The recipe is easy to follow. I have to add, I *hate* the smell of fish sauce. However, once you add the broth it's fine, and I can't argue with the excellent end result. :) So those of you who add it and think they ruined it, you didn't, and it'll be fine. I'm sure it'd be great without it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jtengco25
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Easy to follow recipe and it tasted great. I purchased the glutinous rice at the local Oriental store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtengco25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have also made arroz caldo with whole chicken pieces. My family asks for this especially during flu season with increased (may double or triple) amounts of garlic & ginger for their medicinal benefits -- antibacterial, antiviral, breaks fevers, clears head congestion, opens airways. More effective than chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is so tasty! I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, so I used powdered ginger. I also used brown rice instead of white rice, which was still very yummy, I just had to let it simmer for much longer. VERY good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hokiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful!! I had it for the first time at a church function and have been craving it ever since. The chicken just falls off the bone. I tried just throwing everything in a crock pot, and it come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
i never had this in our home growing up. i heard about it and tried to make this now that i own my own pots and pans. really simple and good!!! please post more filipino dishes coz i wanna learn... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eahnn
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very simple ingredients, BUT for those watching their sodium intake I found that you can use water instead of chicken broth because the fish sauce already adds salt plus I added a touch of Kosher salt. The bone-in chicken wings plus all the other ingredients adds lots of flavor. But if you're like me and hate rubbery, gummy chicken skins, I used skinless boneless chicken breast because the chicken broth adds lots of flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
It tastes just like the arroz caldo my parents make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My husband was feeling ill and I thought it would be nice to make him this dish. My Mom used to make it for me when I was feeling under the weather. Reminded me of my childhood! I didn't add the extra salt for taste. I felt the fish sauce gave it enough salt. I also used boneless chicken thighs cut up. It's just easier to eat, but I do feel the chicken with bones adds more flavor. Thanks for the recipe! I am usually not a strong cook but feel like this came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States