Chicken Arroz Caldo (Chicken Rice Porridge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
i miss this dish its great in winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Easy to follow directions, easy to make and tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is so tasty! I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, so I used powdered ginger. I also used brown rice instead of white rice, which was still very yummy, I just had to let it simmer for much longer. VERY good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hokiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
i never had this in our home growing up. i heard about it and tried to make this now that i own my own pots and pans. really simple and good!!! please post more filipino dishes coz i wanna learn... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eahnn
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Arroz Caldo is my favorite filipino dish, hands down! My mother in law makes it, but she was recently out of town and I had a taste for it. So I found this recipe and it's even better than my mother in law's! I made another batch when she was on her way home and she and my father in law said it was better. The recipe is easy to follow. I have to add, I *hate* the smell of fish sauce. However, once you add the broth it's fine, and I can't argue with the excellent end result. :) So those of you who add it and think they ruined it, you didn't, and it'll be fine. I'm sure it'd be great without it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jtengco25
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Easy to follow recipe and it tasted great. I purchased the glutinous rice at the local Oriental store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtengco25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have also made arroz caldo with whole chicken pieces. My family asks for this especially during flu season with increased (may double or triple) amounts of garlic & ginger for their medicinal benefits -- antibacterial, antiviral, breaks fevers, clears head congestion, opens airways. More effective than chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very simple ingredients, BUT for those watching their sodium intake I found that you can use water instead of chicken broth because the fish sauce already adds salt plus I added a touch of Kosher salt. The bone-in chicken wings plus all the other ingredients adds lots of flavor. But if you're like me and hate rubbery, gummy chicken skins, I used skinless boneless chicken breast because the chicken broth adds lots of flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
It tastes just like the arroz caldo my parents make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Needs chicken Bouillon! Too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States