Chicken Apple Sausage with Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I've been in a food rut lately and wanted to try something different. Made this exactly per the recipe, but used hard apple cider instead of regular. Divided it into individual bowls with just a bit of mustard to mix in. Fantastic! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Wyatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I did modify ingredients a little - used 1 cup apple cider vinegar and just 2 cups apple, cider. Included 3 Tbsp of Dijon mustard to cook with liquid, 2 peeled and seeded Gala apples were added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It has a good basis. Based on the reviews and my own concerns about flavor I changed it up. I did not do it in the Dutch oven but in a big stew pot. I also added 1 lb of chicken and a pack of marinade for flavor. I used an herb and white wine mix but didn't add anything in addition to.the apple juice. came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've just read all of the reviews and I feel like I'm missing something here. Vinegar? I don't see vinegar in the recipe. I'm giving it 5 stars because it's such a good base recipe and so easy to tweak. I had all of the ingredients in the house...almost. Actually, used venison sausage which was quite bland so I needed more salt and lots of pepper. Only had 2 cups apple juice which is more than enough, and I think vegetable or chicken broth would be just fine. Perhaps throw in a cored, peeled and chunked apple or two. And it's better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was a wonderful Fall recipe! I used regular potatoes (didn't have the Yukons) peeled and cut and simmered with apple cider. It was easy to cut shreds of cabbage from the head and it tasted great, much better than a similar recipe using sauerkraut. After reading other reviews, it seems some have misread the recipe, using apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider. Yikes, no wonder they did not like the strong vinegar taste. There is no vinegar called for in this recipe. I recommend they try it again, but with apple cider this time, and believe they will really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I gave this recipe 2 stars only because my husband liked it. However, I thought it was absolutely horrible! I don't understand the rave reviews for this recipe. I tasted nothing but vinegar! The sausage was OK, but there was a strong vinegar flavor. The potato's came out better. Since my husband liked it, I will probably be asked to make it again. If I do, I will use less apple cider vinegar, for sure, and make up the difference with apple juice. I will also add slices of apple and hopefully that will help. However, I will try to get out making this monstrosity again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I really liked this dish. I think the Dijon mustard is a must! I ate half of my plate before remembering the mustard and I liked it so much better with it. My husband even liked it and he didn't even know it was healthier chicken apple sausage. It has a bit of sweetness but the salt, pepper & mustard really balanced it out nicely. Will make again for sure! Thanks for another great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was absolutely amazing. I used 3 cups of apple cider, as I imagined apple juice would be too sweet. The chicken apple sausage was pre-cooked, so I only heated them for a minute or so before adding the onion. Our grocery store didn't have Yukon potatoes, so I chopped up some small potatoes. It was too difficult to get the sausage and potatoes out from under the cabbage, so I just left them all in there as the cider cooked off. This left the potatoes a bit soggy, but the whole meal was scrumptious. The others I was cooking for don't typically like cabbage, but they went back for seconds on this one. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I found some Chicken Apple Sausage in the freezer, and I decided to give this recipe a try. I like all the ingredients, but I didn't like them together. The sausage tasted fine, and the cabbage cooked in apple juice was different. If you know someone who doesn't like cabbage, they might be OK with this, because it really doesn't have a cabbage flavor, just a sweet flavor, yet not apple-y. However, the Yukon Golds cooked in apple juice didn't make the cut. I want potatoes to taste like potatoes, and I found the sweet flavor imparted by the apple juice to be unsettling. I probably won't make this recipe again. This review isn't a "Dear John" letter, but it isn't a love letter, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I did make some changes. As I didnt have enough potatoes I added some chopped apples... and when I started I thought I had apple juice in the fridge which turned out to be fruit punch (yuck). Instead of apple juice I used white wine. I think the sausage I used is the BEST tasting sausage(Aidells's). As a result of the changes, It was bursting with flavors! It was incredible. Even my toddlers had a few bites. I will absolutely make it again. In fact, my husband just purchased some sausage specifically for this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States