Chicken Apple Sausage with Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Only 2 reviews? Don't worry about that take my word for it. This is SO good! I've made it twice already and it is a hit! I changed a couple of things but basically stuck to the plan. I did not use the the Dijon or parsley, not needed. I did it the same except instead of cooking on the stove for 25 mins, I baked it in a covered enameled cast iron Dutch oven. I saute'd the sausages, then onions & I added a shallot with the garlic saute. Layered it with sausages & potatoes on bottom, then cabbage on top. Baked for about 45 mins covered at 375*. I thickened it before serving with whole grain organic baby rice cereal while on stove. No gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This recipe was wonderful. My boyfriend won't eat cooked cabbage so I shared this with my parents and they both loved it too. I'll make this in the future even if it's just for myself. One note: I didn't know what to do about garlic cloves because it didn't say so I used a garlic press and it would out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I give it 5 stars because I had to modify with purple cabbage & regular potatoes instead of green & yukons. Followed the recipe as exact as I could otherwise. Cut the potatoes into 1/8ths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was a wonderful Fall recipe! I used regular potatoes (didn't have the Yukons) peeled and cut and simmered with apple cider. It was easy to cut shreds of cabbage from the head and it tasted great, much better than a similar recipe using sauerkraut. After reading other reviews, it seems some have misread the recipe, using apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider. Yikes, no wonder they did not like the strong vinegar taste. There is no vinegar called for in this recipe. I recommend they try it again, but with apple cider this time, and believe they will really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I did make some changes. As I didnt have enough potatoes I added some chopped apples... and when I started I thought I had apple juice in the fridge which turned out to be fruit punch (yuck). Instead of apple juice I used white wine. I think the sausage I used is the BEST tasting sausage(Aidells's). As a result of the changes, It was bursting with flavors! It was incredible. Even my toddlers had a few bites. I will absolutely make it again. In fact, my husband just purchased some sausage specifically for this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Used sweet potatoes because I didn't have regular potatoes. Pretty tasty and a great use of all the cabbage I'm currently harvesting from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was absolutely amazing. I used 3 cups of apple cider, as I imagined apple juice would be too sweet. The chicken apple sausage was pre-cooked, so I only heated them for a minute or so before adding the onion. Our grocery store didn't have Yukon potatoes, so I chopped up some small potatoes. It was too difficult to get the sausage and potatoes out from under the cabbage, so I just left them all in there as the cider cooked off. This left the potatoes a bit soggy, but the whole meal was scrumptious. The others I was cooking for don't typically like cabbage, but they went back for seconds on this one. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I really liked this dish. I think the Dijon mustard is a must! I ate half of my plate before remembering the mustard and I liked it so much better with it. My husband even liked it and he didn't even know it was healthier chicken apple sausage. It has a bit of sweetness but the salt, pepper & mustard really balanced it out nicely. Will make again for sure! Thanks for another great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've just read all of the reviews and I feel like I'm missing something here. Vinegar? I don't see vinegar in the recipe. I'm giving it 5 stars because it's such a good base recipe and so easy to tweak. I had all of the ingredients in the house...almost. Actually, used venison sausage which was quite bland so I needed more salt and lots of pepper. Only had 2 cups apple juice which is more than enough, and I think vegetable or chicken broth would be just fine. Perhaps throw in a cored, peeled and chunked apple or two. And it's better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I found some Chicken Apple Sausage in the freezer, and I decided to give this recipe a try. I like all the ingredients, but I didn't like them together. The sausage tasted fine, and the cabbage cooked in apple juice was different. If you know someone who doesn't like cabbage, they might be OK with this, because it really doesn't have a cabbage flavor, just a sweet flavor, yet not apple-y. However, the Yukon Golds cooked in apple juice didn't make the cut. I want potatoes to taste like potatoes, and I found the sweet flavor imparted by the apple juice to be unsettling. I probably won't make this recipe again. This review isn't a "Dear John" letter, but it isn't a love letter, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States