Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. Even for a first time fixing a roux it came out better than expected. I did encounter a few problems. Andouille sausage was not to be found here in Raleigh, N.C. I used kiebasa instead, and it came out great.Also, fine powder is hard to find. Our neighbors had some so it worked out ok.The prep time is more than 10 min, but whatever time it takes it is well worth the effort. Be sure to make it a day in advance. The flavors need to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
can't even tell you how many times I've made this recipe since finding it - totally awesome gumbo! ( Okra grosses me out, so I don't add that, LOL!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I demonstrate sausage on weekends and so had lots of Cajun andouille sausage on hand. I added shrimp and some crab meat and it was good, not as good as I remember eating in New Orleans. I will make it again however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Excellent - I can not wait to try this with the File powder!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
My husband for years has sworn that he does not like gumbo. I made a batch (sticking as close to the recipe as my personality allows me to). He not only had a second helping, but when he met a gentleman from Louisiana the next day, bragged that his wife made the best gumbo! Excellent Recipe!!!! Thanks, now I can enjoy homemade gumbo again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDREYSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I love gumbo and this recipe is really good. I make a few changes (main one is flour small chicken pieces and brown in canola oil first) but the recipe is great as is. I think a key to good andouille gumbo is to get the beswt andouille sausage you can. More smoke = better flavor in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is a great dish! Don't let it intimadate you. I use chicken breast instead of awhole chicken. Smoked sausage instead of andouille, because the andouille is really too spicy for my young children, and shrimp. I also don't use the file powder, and I still get rave reviews! It's my 'go to' dish these days for guests. Everyone thinks it must be hard to make,but it is really so simple!Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is really great. Only thing different I did was add onion, garlic & used a can of Rotel tomatoes instead on Italian style. Also added some crawfish because I love it. I have even made it with a bone-in boston butt that was left over. Excellent recipe, just added things I really like to it. And no one says gumbo is a "quick fix meal". If you want it to turn out right you have to do it the right way with no shortcuts or substitutions just to save time, not fair to complain in a review when you dont do it the right way to begin with. This is an excellent recipe, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle9491

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
To start off, I made the roux in the microwave using the following method: mix 3/4 cups of oil and flour in a glass measuring cup and microwave on high, uncovered, for 6 to 7 minutes. Check and stir at 6 minutes and continued cooking on high for up to a minute more to reach the desired color brown. Add 1 cup celery and 2 cups chopped green bell pepper to roux and cook on high for 3 minutes more. Add 4 cloves garlic, minced and 2 Tbsp. dried parsley and saute on high for 2 minutes more. Voila! perfect roux mixed with veggies in less than 15 minutes and practically no stirring. I also cooked the gumbo in the slow cooker on low for 6 hrs adding 1 cup non-instant rice in last hour. I used smoked sausage, 1 1/2 lbs. boneless chicken, didn't precook the okra (I used frozen), used 14.5 oz can of Italian stewed tomatoes, and added 1/2 lb. cooked shrimp with the rice. I kept the spices the same except for the red pepper; I used 1/8 tsp. The results were wonderful, but beware this recipe makes a big batch. Don't know if I'll be making this again b/c it was a lot of work. Anyway, thanks for posting even though I altered the recipe quite a bit. BTW served with Corn Casserole II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
It was decent gumbo. Put the okra in the last 10 minutes of cooking or it will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States