Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have lived all my life (45 years) down the bayou and I have eaten many, many different chicken gumbos. I have never tasted or even heard of putting tomatoes in a gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie_James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Love this recipe! I've never made gumbo and this was so easy. I took the advice of another reviewer and used diced tomatoes instead. I also substituted yellow pepper instead of green pepper (yellow is so much sweeter). I also used boneless skinless chicken breast and thighs instead of bone in. Added a can of chicken broth to the first step to enhance the flavor since it was without bones. Great recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I had excellent results but take issue on a couple of items in the recipe: 1. I see no point in pre-cooking the okra and did not do that, and 2. thank goodness that I had the foresight to just add 1/2 t. cayenne to start with. That was a gracious plenty, and I am a lover of spicy food. Instead of chicken alone, I used chx boneless thighs and two smoked turkey wings and some smoked turkey stock that I had on hand, frozen. I doubled the gumbo file, and it was still pretty juicy, but that didn't matter or detract at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks4Fun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Substituted Chorizo sausage for Andouille and it turned out unbelievable. The gumbo actually tasted its best the next day when we had it for left overs. All the flavors came out to play and it was great. All the TLC put into it really helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Liked this one! I used a stick of butter instead of oil. Used frozen okra and just threw it in, didn't seem slimy to me. I'd never tasted Andouille sausage before and considered subbing with smoked sausage, but it really gave the dish a nice spicy flavor. Added some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was a huge hit with my family. It was spicy, but not too spicy and had a wonderfully rich flavor. I used frozen okra, since that's all I could find locally and it worked out great. Others have mentioned boiling the okra. I sauteed mine for a good 20 minutes or so, until it wasn't sticky. Because I was feeling lazy, I used a rotisserie chicken and stock I had on hand. I think I'd like to add shrimp to this the next time around! This recipe is going into the "keepers" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astanton
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Made this using chicken sausage & frozen 'gumbo starter mix' veggies -- also some quartered corn cobs... was very YUMMY!! Still lacking some seasoning... hubby & I added lots of red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
The only thing I did differently was use kielbasa instead of andouille. I didn't have any. It turned out wonderfully anyway. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Love this recipe just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This recipe is a good basic starting point for a gumbo. We prefer stock-based rather than roux. The thing to remember about gumbo is that whatever you have to put in, well, that's what goes into the pot. That a gumbo. We use chicken thighs for this recipe - and we don't make a roux. The andouille is a 'must have' for this . . . nothing like it . . . and chicken thighs make a good stock. The file' is a 'must have' as well. If you can't find andouille or file', please contact me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States