Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was incredible! I'm from New Orleans, and my mother-in-law demanded the recipe--that's saying a lot, believe me. My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is one of my all time favorite meals. It takes a lot of work, but it is definitely worth the time. I have consistently made it with a roux, cheated by using a frozen package of gumbo mix, and used ham seasoned with cajun seasoning (in my opinion it isn't worth all the effort without the ham).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good! This is the first gumbo I've ever made, and it's now a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yummmy. Had to add an onion! And used the oven for browning the flour, worked very well. But was afraid of burning the flour so used 375 and only went for 30 mins or so, stirring between 5 and 10 mins. The whole thing takes a while and several pots but was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe without out adding basil, used diced tomatoes instead of whole peeled, and substituted butter for the vegetable oil when making my roux. Also, I took another user's advice and added a pinch of cajun seasoning. Tastes delicious.The first time I made the roux, I used vegetable oil as directed, but vegetable oil makes the roux smell burnt, and when your roux smells burnt, your food will taste burnt. So try it with butter (I used one cup = whole stick unsalted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
wow! this is soooo good!!! my husband LOVED it!! I used butter instead of oil..and it turned out really good.. I think next time i will add shrimp, and will use diced tomatoes instead of whole ones..But this dish is very very good..thanks for haring this recipe..I will make this AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkcupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was good but way too salty and I didn't even add the salt that the recipe called for. It was too salty from just the sausage! I can my own tomatoes so I know there is no salt in those either. Other than the salt factor, this was good. The reason I gave 4 stars is because I can't imagine how salty it would have been by adding the 2 teaspoons of salt in addition to the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This recipe was the closest I have found to my Uncle Bob's recipe. I did, however, leave out the tomatoes as the traditional gumbos that I have had do not have tomatoes in them. Great winter meal and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jolie
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
definitely one of my favorites. it was a hit with my family who loves spicy foods! of course, i added more cayenne pepper to it too. turkey/chicken andouille worked really well as an alternative too. no one even noticed a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
A great fall and winter dish to warm you up. I added 2-tablespoons of Louisiana hot sauce to the mix just because I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States