Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This tastes awesome! Not extremely spicy yet still very flavorful. I was worried about the slimy okra, but in the end it wasn't noticeable. The roux never turned "deep golden brown", but I was probably just impatient (or because I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil). It still tasted great to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
My gumbo was very oily. Can someone tell me what i did wrong. I made the roux for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
What I do differently is use chicken broth instead of water, saute my veggies (not the okra) first and okra in at the end. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
IMade to hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I modified a few things with great results. I cooked a whole chicken in the slow cooker first. This made dealing with the chicken a snap. While it was cooking, I skillet fried the sausage (could not find andouille so I used chorizo) set aside, then sautéed “the trinity” in the sausage grease, adding a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning. Then I broke up the chicken and poured the slow cooker liquids into the stock pot, added some of the chicken (including a few bones), sausage, and the sauteed vegetables. Meanwhile I made the roux in a separate skillet, (although never have done this before, it came out great), then poured it in the stock pot. Simmered it for 1 ½ hours. I was a little nervous about the okra, since I have never eaten or cooked with it before, so a shyly threw a handful of frozen okra in during the last half hour. It all came out great! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was incredible! I'm from New Orleans, and my mother-in-law demanded the recipe--that's saying a lot, believe me. My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is one of my all time favorite meals. It takes a lot of work, but it is definitely worth the time. I have consistently made it with a roux, cheated by using a frozen package of gumbo mix, and used ham seasoned with cajun seasoning (in my opinion it isn't worth all the effort without the ham).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good! This is the first gumbo I've ever made, and it's now a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yummmy. Had to add an onion! And used the oven for browning the flour, worked very well. But was afraid of burning the flour so used 375 and only went for 30 mins or so, stirring between 5 and 10 mins. The whole thing takes a while and several pots but was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe without out adding basil, used diced tomatoes instead of whole peeled, and substituted butter for the vegetable oil when making my roux. Also, I took another user's advice and added a pinch of cajun seasoning. Tastes delicious.The first time I made the roux, I used vegetable oil as directed, but vegetable oil makes the roux smell burnt, and when your roux smells burnt, your food will taste burnt. So try it with butter (I used one cup = whole stick unsalted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States