Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
It tastes very good. But to me, it tastes for like jambalaya then gumbo. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Am always asked for the recipe when I serve this to someone who has never tried it before. I use shrimp instead of chicken and cut back some on the amount of oil for the roux. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Best gumbo we ever had. Thank you for a nice hearty filling dinner! Will be adding this recipe to the rotation. Only changes I made was I don't care for the taste of boiled chicken so I pan-fried chicken quarters in some bacon grease. I them used the combined bacon grease and rendered chicken fat to make the roux, which also helped me reclaim the browned bits. I did add about a half pound of shrimp and so I've saved the bones and shells from the shrimp to make stock for the next time I make gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Yum! And even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was great! People keep saying that 6 minutes for the roux is not enough, but that's just because they think it should be "black" roux. I did mine for about 10 minutes and it got to a brown roux and it still tasted fine. I burnt it the first time trying to take it all the way to black. I used butter on the second go for the roux and mixed in what little vegetable oil I had left, and it actually worked really well. We love spicy, but if you're not a fan of super-hot things, cut back on the pepper quite a bit. I added in some Worcestershire sauce (a little less than 1 T) and some Tony Chachere's seasoning (1 t or so), and it helped make it more flavorful. I also used a lot more garlic (like 4 cloves) and added Hunt's diced tomatoes with garlic instead of the stewed tomatoes. I also used all-white chicken breasts instead of chicken parts, and used chicken broth instead of used the stuff from the pan of boiled chicken. Very good stuff! Served over white rice with cheesy jalapeno garlic biscuits. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
A very good Gumbo Substituted red and yellow peppers Added 1 teaspoon of Cajun spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Followed the recipe to the letter with a few small alterations,my okra.... *cough* didn't turn out well, even cooked on its own. So I substituted in a 16oz can of corn and a can of green beans, and a medium yellow onion as well. I was unable to find any Andouille, so I went with carolina smoked sausage. I added about 1/2 tsp more black pepper and only 1/2 a tsp of cayenne. I prepared my roux by browning the flour in a cast iron skillet in the oven, 400 degrees for about 15 minutes,the flour came out about the color of light brown sugar, mixed into a fairly dark roux, a shade lighter than onion gravy. I also sauteed the onion,celery,green pepper and garlic in olive oil till the onions were slightly browned on the edges. Served over Zatarains long grain & wild rice, unquestionably a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious I have made it several times and it never disappoints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Delicious! My dad's side of the family is all cajun, so whenever we went to visit them I always got to look forward to their gumbo. Craving something similar, and it being near Mardi Gras, I decided to give making my own gumbo a try. Completely new to the process of making gumbo but I did a lot of research before I attempted this recipe and read a lot of reviews on it. I made the okra according to the recipe and it turned out fine- not slimey. the andouille sausage I bought wasn't that great so it really didn't add anything, could've left it out. My roux definitely took more than 6 minutes- more like 45! very easy but extremely time consuming. I added onions to the vegetable mix (gotta have onions). Other than that I left the rest of the recipe alone and it turned out just like I remember gumbo and just the right amount of spice. My husband and my friends, who have never had gumbo, love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This tastes awesome! Not extremely spicy yet still very flavorful. I was worried about the slimy okra, but in the end it wasn't noticeable. The roux never turned "deep golden brown", but I was probably just impatient (or because I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil). It still tasted great to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States