Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JenB
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe was a great base for a delicious gumbo that my family loved! I added diced onion, extra garlic and used frozen okra. I also cooked the roux to a dark milk chocolate color instead of golden brown. It gives the gumbo more of a richness in my opinion. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I could not make the roux work for the life of me. I was trying to make this dish gluten free and it just wasn't happening. I instead started with cold liquid, added my gf flour and then slowly heated it. The sausage was too spicy for my kiddos so I won't make it again. I think it is more an issue on my part as opposed to the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I changed almost everything and emptied the leftovers fridge on this recipe!! First I cut the recipe in half (but still added 4 cups of water) I had some cooked chicken from the other day so I skipped step 1- cutting the time in half. I had a few pieces of grilled Hillshire Farms Turkey sausage or kielbasa hanging out in the fridge so I threw those in. I used a small leftover bag of frozen mixed veggies (carrots incl.) and a few frozen tri-colored pepper slices in place of the okra. I still added 4 cups of water (and the chicken stock granules) and half of all the spice ingredients. I didn't have Cayenne Pepper so I added chili powder and I subbed marjoram and oregano. I used a can of diced tomatoes with no flavor. I had some leftover cooked rice too, which I just put a scoop in the bowls and poured the rice right on top. This Soup base is a keeper and this recipe is very dynamic- you can throw in whatever you have its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I added onions and baked (350F for about 45min stirring occasionally) the flower. The okra took a very long time (1.5hrs)to cook down. Maybe steaming it would have been better. All around delicious and you will have plenty of chicken broth for another soup. i also used some spicy turkey sausage which was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
To make this work, I doubled the liquid, using more of the chicken broth and some red wine, and added a chopped onion, which completed the "holy trinity" of celery, onion and green pepper. Finally, instead of cooking the file the last 15 minutes, I sprinkled some on top of the gumbo when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe. Only change I made was to add an onion. I did this based off several of the other reviews and I think it turned out good. Even got my picky 7 year old to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was just ok. Of course, I went to 3 grocery stores and couldn't find file powder, so I added cajun seasoning but it was still very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This gumbo was excellent! It was the first time I ever made roux and it turned out great. The only comment I would give is to cook the roux on low heat for at least 30 minutes. I will bring this dish to my son tomorrow for his birthday as a surprise. I know he will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
So I've made this twice now, the first time I made the okra and chickened out of using it because it was very slimy, and quite honestly I wasn't sure if I would like it. So the second time I omitted it completely. I know it technically wasn't even Gumbo the way I made it since I also omitted the file powder as well but it was still good. The second time I made it I used a different "no fillers/all natural" sausage and it was not half as good as the first time. The first time I used Johnsonville New Orleans sausage and it came out good and spicey, so I recommend that. I gave it 4 stars versus 5 because it wasn't that good the second time with a less spicey sausage, so it could maybe use more seasoning or something, I ended up adding jalapenos. I also, like many other reviewers noted, added onions to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Used summer squash instead of okra...big mistake, was very mushy. One tsp of cayenne pepper didn't give it nearly enough kick, would double or triple next time. Definitely need to take the time to get that roux nice and brown...gives the dish its color. Served over grits...very tasty, would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States