Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe. Only change I made was to add an onion. I did this based off several of the other reviews and I think it turned out good. Even got my picky 7 year old to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was just ok. Of course, I went to 3 grocery stores and couldn't find file powder, so I added cajun seasoning but it was still very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This gumbo was excellent! It was the first time I ever made roux and it turned out great. The only comment I would give is to cook the roux on low heat for at least 30 minutes. I will bring this dish to my son tomorrow for his birthday as a surprise. I know he will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
So I've made this twice now, the first time I made the okra and chickened out of using it because it was very slimy, and quite honestly I wasn't sure if I would like it. So the second time I omitted it completely. I know it technically wasn't even Gumbo the way I made it since I also omitted the file powder as well but it was still good. The second time I made it I used a different "no fillers/all natural" sausage and it was not half as good as the first time. The first time I used Johnsonville New Orleans sausage and it came out good and spicey, so I recommend that. I gave it 4 stars versus 5 because it wasn't that good the second time with a less spicey sausage, so it could maybe use more seasoning or something, I ended up adding jalapenos. I also, like many other reviewers noted, added onions to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Used summer squash instead of okra...big mistake, was very mushy. One tsp of cayenne pepper didn't give it nearly enough kick, would double or triple next time. Definitely need to take the time to get that roux nice and brown...gives the dish its color. Served over grits...very tasty, would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Great! But only used half the cayenne pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My husband said I should open a restaurant and serve only gumbo! I used 6 boneless breats (we like white meat) and did what others suggested....boiled the okra so it was not slimey and the very best helpful hint was to spread the flour on a cookie sheet and cook it at 400 degrees for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My children love this gumbo. The girls aren't big spice lovers, so they add extra rice because they can't resist the flavors. My boy on the other hand always asks me to make extra sausage to add to his gumbo. My husband & I love the flavor with the bonus of a quiet dinner. The kids are too busy to talk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is the first time I have made gumbo and was pleasantly surprised. It was spicy but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
had never had Gumbo but my husband asked for it, so I found this recipe. used hot lnks instead of Andouille and added onions. Other than that followed the recipe. was a lttle afraid of the okra when I saw how gooey t was but it turned out amazing! I am now a fan of Gumbo and this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States