Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
A family favorite and a true comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I did saute some diced onion, omitted the file powder (I was out), and used boneless skinless chicken breasts (that's the only kind of chicken we like). The end result was delicious; my fiance proclaimed this to be the best version I've gumbo I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I like this recipe. I did make my own adjustments for my and my families preferences. I sliced the okra and fried it first. My husband does not like the 'slimy' texture of it. I could not find Andouille sausage so I substituted a chicken type Andouille sausage instead. I used cut up chicken breast instead of chicken parts. I added shrimp that I sautéed In olive oil with Old Bay Seasoning and a pinch of creole seasoning (we like a little heat but not much for the kids), along with the listed salt, black pepper, thyme and basil. I used the seasoned olive oil that I sautéed the shrimp in and add it to the recipe. I used butter with flour for the roux and chopped some fresh collard greens to be added to the onion, green pepper, garlic and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maynard, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
just made this for church Mardi Gras supper. Very tasty,smelled heavenly, everyone liked it however it was way too spicy for me. But i've been told i'm a whimp. Will make again at home with less spicy sausage, and less cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenB
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe was a great base for a delicious gumbo that my family loved! I added diced onion, extra garlic and used frozen okra. I also cooked the roux to a dark milk chocolate color instead of golden brown. It gives the gumbo more of a richness in my opinion. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I could not make the roux work for the life of me. I was trying to make this dish gluten free and it just wasn't happening. I instead started with cold liquid, added my gf flour and then slowly heated it. The sausage was too spicy for my kiddos so I won't make it again. I think it is more an issue on my part as opposed to the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I changed almost everything and emptied the leftovers fridge on this recipe!! First I cut the recipe in half (but still added 4 cups of water) I had some cooked chicken from the other day so I skipped step 1- cutting the time in half. I had a few pieces of grilled Hillshire Farms Turkey sausage or kielbasa hanging out in the fridge so I threw those in. I used a small leftover bag of frozen mixed veggies (carrots incl.) and a few frozen tri-colored pepper slices in place of the okra. I still added 4 cups of water (and the chicken stock granules) and half of all the spice ingredients. I didn't have Cayenne Pepper so I added chili powder and I subbed marjoram and oregano. I used a can of diced tomatoes with no flavor. I had some leftover cooked rice too, which I just put a scoop in the bowls and poured the rice right on top. This Soup base is a keeper and this recipe is very dynamic- you can throw in whatever you have its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I added onions and baked (350F for about 45min stirring occasionally) the flower. The okra took a very long time (1.5hrs)to cook down. Maybe steaming it would have been better. All around delicious and you will have plenty of chicken broth for another soup. i also used some spicy turkey sausage which was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
To make this work, I doubled the liquid, using more of the chicken broth and some red wine, and added a chopped onion, which completed the "holy trinity" of celery, onion and green pepper. Finally, instead of cooking the file the last 15 minutes, I sprinkled some on top of the gumbo when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe. Only change I made was to add an onion. I did this based off several of the other reviews and I think it turned out good. Even got my picky 7 year old to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States