Chicken Andouille Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I loved this recipe. I had to adapt a few things. I could not find fresh okra so I used frozen. I also used fresh basil. And I used Smoked Beef Sausage not andouille sausage. At the end of the cooking time I ladled off the fat at the top of the gumbo before serving. My husband said it tasted just like the gumbo he had had in the past so he was well pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Very good and easy to make. We added zucchini and onions to ours, only because we have an abundance of both from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Fantastic! However added a bit extra cayenne pepper due to using normal pork sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
good basic recipe, I used diced tomatoes with chilies, served over rice, garnished with green onions and file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hallmark

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
A family favorite and a true comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I did saute some diced onion, omitted the file powder (I was out), and used boneless skinless chicken breasts (that's the only kind of chicken we like). The end result was delicious; my fiance proclaimed this to be the best version I've gumbo I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I like this recipe. I did make my own adjustments for my and my families preferences. I sliced the okra and fried it first. My husband does not like the 'slimy' texture of it. I could not find Andouille sausage so I substituted a chicken type Andouille sausage instead. I used cut up chicken breast instead of chicken parts. I added shrimp that I sautéed In olive oil with Old Bay Seasoning and a pinch of creole seasoning (we like a little heat but not much for the kids), along with the listed salt, black pepper, thyme and basil. I used the seasoned olive oil that I sautéed the shrimp in and add it to the recipe. I used butter with flour for the roux and chopped some fresh collard greens to be added to the onion, green pepper, garlic and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maynard, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
just made this for church Mardi Gras supper. Very tasty,smelled heavenly, everyone liked it however it was way too spicy for me. But i've been told i'm a whimp. Will make again at home with less spicy sausage, and less cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenB
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe was a great base for a delicious gumbo that my family loved! I added diced onion, extra garlic and used frozen okra. I also cooked the roux to a dark milk chocolate color instead of golden brown. It gives the gumbo more of a richness in my opinion. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I could not make the roux work for the life of me. I was trying to make this dish gluten free and it just wasn't happening. I instead started with cold liquid, added my gf flour and then slowly heated it. The sausage was too spicy for my kiddos so I won't make it again. I think it is more an issue on my part as opposed to the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States