Chicken And Artichoke Penne With A White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I found this to be pretty bland, and the bechamel sauce not acting as a good pasta sauce. I think my husband and I would prefer an alfredo or butter sauce instead. I had to add more salt after cooking in order to eat. I'm wondering if marinated artichoke hearts would help give this more flavor OR sundried tomatoes would be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
My husband and kids liked this even though they all dislike mushrooms! Victory! For my bechamel I use 1 cup stock from bullion, 1 cup cold milk + 1 Tbsp cornstarch, 2-3 T grated gruyere cheese. I also added 1 Tbsp lipton onion soup mix instead of salt or grated onion. The other reviews wondered about calories - it's the olives and artichokes, both higher in fats. I agree that bacon would be yummy, but there goes the low-fat option...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Really really good! i made it exactly as authored, but used a different Bechamel Sauce recipe than the one linked beneath the chicken recipe, and i loved the subtlety of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I think the success of this recipe depends on your bechamel sauce. I added garlic and sundried tomatoes. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma G

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I just read the ingredients and i cant understand why is this dish high on calories? 22 grams fat and 70 grams carbs!!! did i miss something? coz i had it before in a restaurant and i can understand that it can be fatty from the white sauce, so i guess it depends on the method a one will take to prepare the homemade beshamel sauce. anyway its a very delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherihan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this today; it was good. I may have used more chicken than the recipe called for since I used the whole package; we like meat in our family. I used whole wheat penne to counteract all the extra meat. Next time I will add bacon to this for more flavor. This is a great one pot dinner for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Thanks MARBALET, this was fast, very good and easy. I tossed in a handful of chopped green olives just for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
We usually have either a marinara or alfredo sauce. This was a nice change of pace. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States