Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This recipe is outstanding. It is simple to make and requires only a handful of ingredients. Best of all it is packed with a "punch" of great flavor. Also, there is plenty of room to add personal flair; such as cinnamon, raisins, and different type of milks. It will become a staple recipe; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This ended up being great, but I did make some changes. I used chicken tenderloins, seasoned them with poultry seasoning and sauteed them in cooking spray. I removed the chicken and made the sauce in the same pan according to the recipe, then returned the chicken to the pan and simmered until done. But after tasting, I thought the dish was way too bland. So I added more curry, about a quarter cup of golden raisins, and 2 teaspoons of brown sugar. Served over couscous - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
It's missing something. Haven't been able to figure it out. But it's still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BizzyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Once I added the curry to the sauteed apples and onions, I knew this was going to be good -- the smell was divine! I sauteed and combined everything in a cast iron pan, then simply added the cubed chicken breasts to the pan and put it right in the oven. This will be a recipe I know I'll enjoy 'playing around with.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious curry! I also diced the chicken and cooked the entire dish on the stovetop. Next time I'll try Granny Smith apples as another reviewer suggested. I used Gala apples this time and threw in a handful of raisins as well. Also I used chicken stock instead of broth to reduce the salt and soy instead of regular milk. Served over couscous with chopped peanuts and coconut as toppings. Made an easy meal that looked like I'd really fussed... Thank you ChristyJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Absolutely yummy - THANK YOU. I too doubled the sauce ingredients so lots of it - flour, milk (used coconut milk) and chicken broth. I also diced chicken into inch (ish) squares and cooked completely on stove top. I added 3 tbsp of medium curry powder to give a bit of a kick, would take to 2 if giving to the children. This is really lovely and will def being creating again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe. My three year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was my first time making curry and I was very impressed. Four stars only because I used this a base recipe. I read other's suggestions and doubled both the 'soup' and curry powder. I also used coconut milk instead of milk. I cooked it with chicken tenderloins- they were a little bland and I think next time i'll cube them. Also I threw in a dash of red pepper for spice. The apples added a great flavor- kind of tangy! I used Granny Smith. Next time I'm going to throw in cooked potatoes to replicate the curry I eat at my favorite Thai restaurant. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was good. It tasted like I was putting the top rated (on this site) Mulligatawny soup on rice. It has the exact same flavor. It is a little bit bland....maybe some cumin would help with this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is a great base recipie. The flavors were great, next time I will add some veggies and more curry powder. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States