Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I would give this three stars, but my husband loved it, so I compromised with four stars. I used two tablespoons of curry and was still disappointed that it didn't have more curry flavor. I found it a little bland. I'll try it again with a few modifications. I also used cut up turkey, to make it easier to eat over some cous cous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reeders, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Eh...this was just ok. Was hoping for a more flavorful dish. My apples didn't even give it a kick. bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Wonderful! My son said it was like eating in an Indian restaurant. I used milk to keep down the calories but I could see how using coconut milk would add to the richness of an already superb recipe....perhaps for company. (I added fresh garlic and peas.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious! I did substitute a can of coconut milk for the milk and added 6 cloves of minced garlic (we love garlic) and used a whole cut up chicken instead of the breasts and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I did this recipe in the crockpot and it turned out fabulous--just added all the ingredients in the pot and set for low for 7 hours. Chicken was very moist and flavorful. I realized after I started making this that i had no curry powder....big oops, but I used tumeric and other spices, used coconut milk instead of milk, and it still tasted like curry. Just a few things I tried for those looking to add veggies-- I added cubed potatoes to the crock pot (my favorite curry dishes have potatoes) and served over sticky rice and steamed broccoli. I wasn't sure how it would be with broccoli, but I was really surprised how nice the flavors were together! Loved the recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was so-so. I made it tonight and had to make many changes for it not to be bland. Added another tblsp of curry powder, 2 cloves of crushed garlic, more chicken broth, and 1 tblsp of hot chili sauce. Also I used coconut milk instead of regular. To be honest, I don't think this will be made again. It just wasn't as dynamic as I think curry should be. My British boyfriend said it was meh. Edible, but not a winner. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberlie2873

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe, but did change it a smidge. I used 3 tablespoons of curry instead of just 1. I also used a can of coconut milk plus the cup of milk to make it more saucy. I cooked this in a skillet with cubed chicken breast. It turned out great! I've been looking for a curry recipe just like this for a long time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Very Good! I made this pretty much according to directions. I increased the curry by about 3/4 TBS and I cubed the chicken. The whole family loved it. My husband and I added chili paste to ours and it gave it great kick! Served with couscous and naan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mclainsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good! I ended up being short on time so I sliced the chicken, lightly pan fried it until cooked then put the chicken aside. I made the sauce as directed but added the chicken and continued cooking until it was thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great recipe. I did add more curry powder than originally called for, and I used coconut milk instead of regular milk, I also cubed the meat and sauted the chicken, apple, and onion all together. Awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States