Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was good but I didn't make near the same amount of chicken to go in the sauce. I can't imagine 8 breasts with the amount of of sauce this calls for. I doubled the curry and cut the chicken breast into chunks so that it could just be cooked in the pan with the sauce. I liked the apple's sweetness and will include it in all of my curry dishes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Used: Pink Lady Apples and Jamaican Curry Added: 5 cloves of garlic and 1 1/2 Tablespoons MORE Curry APPLE AND CURRY WORK SO WELL TOGETHER! This dish was not only easy but so delicious. I like spicy so I added more curry but it still didnt come out too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Great recipe! Make sure to use granny smith or other sour apple. The more sour the better. Also, take the advice of others and add more spices. I will definitely make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This tasted wonderful. The curry and the apples make for a very pleasant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Reading the Ingredient list I knew that this recipe needed some more spices. Having said that Im still rating this a 4 bec the apples and curry played so well off eachother and I would have never thought of that. I added a teaspoon of coriander, garam masala, some cinnamon, a jalapeno and some red peppers. I cooked the chicken than added it to the sauce later. (All in a skillet) I did crave more of the apple taste so next time I will dice the apples larger and add one more or maybe add some apple juice. Also I think golden rasins would go nicely in this. Im so glad I tried this. thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very good and easy recipe! Used 2 chicken breasts but same amount of sauce. Could use a little more chicken though. Cooked everything in skillet: chicken first, set aside, then add onions and apples, then curry powder and liquids, then add chicken back in. Having coconut milk on hand to use instead of regular milk would have added a nice touch. Served with rice, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe which I used for a dinner I hosted awhile back. I made a few modifications though. I added green onion, red and green bell pepper, garlic, raisins, and coconut milk and let the chicken bake. Also, I discovered that it's quick and easy to cook this on a stove top skillet, covered for 15-20 minutes if you're only cooking a few chicken breasts (for 1-3). Just pour the sauce over the chicken and let it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe. SO easy to whip up a quick family meal! I read other reviews and follwed the adivce to double the curry powder. I also used a bit of corn starch in place of the flour. I didn't heat the chicken broth either. Oh and lastly... I made the curry sauce and threw in the raw chicken...simmered on the stove for about 30-45 on low. I will make this again! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Not only did it please the whole family, including my picky wife, but it was great as lunch the next day. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Excellent. Followed recipe exactly first time. Second time, added raisins and used olive oil instead of butter. I also used a little more curry and used skim milk. Equally as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States