Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was my first curry and sooo good. My hubby loved it and even my picky 4 year old thought it was yummy. After reading some other reviews I made the following changes: Reduced the chicken to 6 breast and cubed them. Doubled the sauce. Didn't have any chicken broth so used one can of cream of chicken and one can of water. Doubled the curry and added a bit of cinnamon, too. Also threw in a handful of raisins and added a bit more apples. Saute'ed the apple first then added spices and liquids until boiling. Then added cubed chicken to the mixture and cooked on stovetop for about 30 minutes while my riced cooked. Served over rice and with an indian chapati flatbread that I found on this site. It was all so authentic and delicious tasting! Will definitely make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FancyNancy
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was a great recipe although I did change some things & I would make more changes next time I make it. I used coconut oil instead of butter cause it's healthier. I used Almond milk instead of milk cause I'm allergic to milk. I halved the recipe but left the same amount of curry in it. It still needed more curry. I also think the curry I bought was not spicy enough. I will add another apple next time cause I could hardly taste the one I added. I will definately do this recipe again but with extra curry & extra apple. Thanks for posting it! I hope you don't feel that I butchered your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FancyNancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I found this to be more sweet than spicy, added some cayenne to perk it up...but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenyfur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this for my family not too long ago. Everyone adored it and told me to definetly make it again! It has a unique, fresh taste that made it even more delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiestaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was an absolutely awesome curry. I tip my hat off to you, sir/mame. I want to say that I modified the recipe a bit, however. I added a lot of turmeric and gram marsala as well as some cinnamon. Also, instead of adding milk I added half coconut milk and half yogurt. As i slow cooked everything I found it to be getting to thick so I added milk a few times to keep it liquid. Again, thank you so much. This is one of the best things I ever made and it was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Wonderful Recipe. First time I made curry and it was so easy and good. I didn't have any chicken and used pork chops, and it turned out wonderful. I did double the sauce and added some heat(chili sauce), because the apples made it sweet. Sweet and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
A very very tasty recipe, especially for my kid who simply loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guwahati, Assam, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TsukiKarp
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a VERY easy, very delicious recipe! The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that I gave it a bit of tweaking and while it was very GOOD, it's not SO good that I'll be getting cravings or dreaming about it. But I will *definitely* make this again! The three changes I made were: 1) I used half coconut milk for the milk measurement. 2) I added masala spice 3) I added golden raisins to the mixture(at about 20 minutes into the baking process). This last one made ALL the difference; my significant other said this wouldn't be HALF as good without those golden raisins (they go VERY well with curry; I highly recommend them). I served it with coconut rice and they go very well together. A GREAT dish for busy families too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was quite tasty. I used coconut milk and more curry. I also baked it over a bed of raw rice and added water. The flavors seeped into the rice. I only didnt really taste a distinct apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shabbos Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was very yummy. The whole family really enjoyed it. I make curry fairly often, but the apple really adds something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States