Chicken Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was a creamy sauce but did not taste like an Alfredo. As it cooled during the meal, the sauce became much thicker and we could taste the cream cheese more strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I was skeptical because the only cheese is cream cheese, but I was very surprised at how delicious and easy this Alfredo recipe is. I followed the recommendation to use 12 oz. cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, and 1 cup milk and it was pretty tasty. Then I added about 1/2 cup freshly shredded Asiago cheese and used fresh pressed garlic instead of garlic powder, and the flavor went over the top. Absolutely fantastic! I omitted veggies, but will experiment with those another time. There are so many possibilities with this basic sauce. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This recipe was very good and I will tell you why. It is pretty much fool proof. I forgot to add two of the vegetable ingredients and it still turned out good. I did not have enough cream and I used almond milk to supplement and it still worked. I had a little vegetable oil left in the pan from cooking the chicken and I thought that it was going to be a disaster, but I kept going and it still turned out good. This recipe is a keeper and can stand up to anything. It tastes good the next day which is great because I have to cook many of my meals at night for the next couple of days. When warmed up it tasted great. It was filling and kept its consistency. It was just an all around good recipe. I took the advice given to save time and I cooked the pasta and the broccoli in the same pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Wonderful sauce. It took awhile for the creme cheese and butter to melt and become smooth so just be patient. It is worth the wait. I served the veggies on the side as I like fresher tasting veggies, not covered in sauce. All the family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This had a good flavor but the sauce was a little thick when made as stated, we just added a little extra milk to fix the problem. Very rich tasting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was delicious !!! It was absolutely amazing and fun to make. The only thing that i would say would be to use medium heat instead of low heat when melting the butter and cream cheese. As well as put the milk in with it too before it is smooth because it helps for some reason. I left out the zucchini and the bell pepper because my fiance doesn't like those kinds of things in pasta. overall amazing and will be using this recipe from now on!! I'm actually cooking it again tomorrow night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very fast and delicious. Excellent meal for a last minute throw together. You probably have everything you need on hand. I needed to modify the recipe b/c of dietary constraints: neufchatel cheese and almond milk. Used garlic salt and red pepper flakes. Only had broccoli, so that's the only veggie we had. Very yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is better than traditional Alfredo sauce. The cream cheese makes it tangy rather than pasty. Everyone in my family loved it. I doubled the sauce recipe; fried my chicken in olive oil, fresh garlic, and fresh basil (from a tube); added fresh spinach and chopped roasted canned red bell peppers to the sauce; then chopped my chicken and placed it over the fettuccine, finally pouring the sauce over the chicken and serving. The cream cheese and butter will appear curdly until you add the milk and whisk it well on medium heat. Be careful not to turn the heat up too high as it will burn the mixture. I also added a half of a cup of peccorino romano cheese into the cream cheese and let it melt before I added the butter, as well as onion powder, garlic powder, and salt. The adults added fresh ground pepper before eating, too, for a little spice. Doubling the recipe feeds about 4-5 adults and 2 children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Definitely a keeper!! This was my first venture into homemade alfredo sauce and I hated the stuff in jars. I was afraid the sauce would be too tangy but it balanced out very well. Oh and I didn't have any of the veggies on hand so I just left those out completely. I lightly browned chicken in skillet, removed to a plate then added the butter. I had no issues with the cheese separating or not melting evenly since I melted the butter in skillet on low first, then slowly added cream cheese in chunks, stirring almost constantly. I also added the milk a 1/4 cup at a time, mixed completely then added more. Once all was melted and chicken chunks added, I had to turn temp up to medium since it wasn't very warm, but I watched very carefully to make sure it wouldn't separate or burn to skillet. All in all a good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Excellent! Delicious! I always order this dish when eating out at Italian restaurants and this one is comparable to the best! I used a full cube of butter, and next time around I will add sauteed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States