Chicken Afritada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
the half cup of soy sauce ruined the dish, too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was really good, my kids even loved it : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Lots of flavor! A great recipe that strays from the traditional. I added worstershire sauce and gave it a little more of a kick. I'd definately reccomed and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made this pretty much as published, only substitutions I made were replaced the 4 med. potatoes with one large sweet potato and a can of garbanzo beans (since I had no regular potatoes on hand) and used frozen peas instead of canned for the same reason. Flavor was excellent, only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that it's way too oily. I will be making this more, but with half the oil or less next time. Goes well with the Syrian Bread recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by probrewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Way too salty. Expected more from the way others raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I would recommend you to follow the recipe exactly. DO NOT omit the ginger as it is what gives this recipe the zing. The whole family loved it. Hubby says this is the best dish I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this with some alterations and my kids loved it. Instead of tomato sauce, I used fresh ripe tomatoes with tomato paste and herb seasonings. I also didn't use any ginger, soy sauce or oyster sauce and used chicken stock instead. Boneless skinless chicken thighs work well with this recipe and is convenient for kids. Also sauteed garlic with onion instead of using garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My husband's favorite dish! It's too salty and greasy for me as written, but with a few minor alterations it turned out great. Instead of frying up chicken, I saute some cubed boneless,skinless chicken breasts in a skillet. Instead of 1 (10 oz.) can of tomato sauce, I use one of those larger 29oz cans. That's it. After those few changes, it's perfect for me and my hubby still loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I don't use oyster sauce, ginger, or garlic at all in this. Also, I put sliced carrots and chick peas instead of baby peas. I add sliced hotdogs in it as well (how ethnic, ¿no?) And sliced green peppers and a small jar of diced pimentos go well together. Someone told me to add milk in it one time, and I was like "ewww gross, no thanks".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xinito
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My honey ko loves it. I added the meat last and cook it for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States