Chicken Adobo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I hadn't had chicken adobo in over 20 years. This was so fantastic, I can't believe it took me this long to make it. I made exactly to recipe except that I used rice vinegar instead of apple cider vinegar. This will definitely be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I am 1/2 filipino and have tried different version of adobo. I was looking to try something less salty and thought this might work using apple cider vinegar. This recipe just doesn't have any flavor. Keep the garlic in the pan, add more and maybe add more soy sauce for a better flavor. Perhaps if you marinated this overnight it would taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
It tells you to brown the garlic, and then take it out, but never tells you to do anything with the garlic after that. Does not tell you how long the wings should marinate. The picture shown is a poorly browned chicken wing, It looks more poached than pan fried. I did the best I could with the directions being as they are, It tasted Ok, But should stay in the marinade for a bit to pickup the marinade flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
My young son goes to a Filipina daycare provider. For months he was bugging me to make "chicken adouble"! I finally figured out he was talking about the Filipino chicken adobo! I found this recipe, and he loves it! So does the rest of the family. I was really skeptical about that much soy sauce and vinegar being overpowering, but it is actually fairly mild after it has cooked for a while. I make a double batch of soy/vinegar/garlic and marinade the chicken in half of that for a couple of hours. I brown the chicken in a cast iron pan, then toss in a whole sliced up onion. I cover the pan, put the whole thing in the oven with the remaining soy/vinegar/garlic mix and allow it to braise for about 45 min. The chicken is fall-off-the-bone tender, and the sauce is divine over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This recipe was really good! I used 3lbs of bone-in drumsticks and bone-in thighs, and will definitely use only bone-in thighs in the future. Equal parts apple cider vinegar to low sodium soy sauce turned out great, despite some other reviews. We also added a little more garlic (3 cloves total) and ginger and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
First let me state that I used 3 recipes to make Chicken Adobo. I started with Traci's Adobo Seasoning with Adobo Chicken with Ginger. I boiled everything together and waited until the chicken was tender. I added potatoes and cooked until done. Then I drained half the broth, fried some onions, and continued to make this recipe. So far, this is the closest way to get the Chicken Adobo to taste just like my grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
The dark meat and the flavor of the sauce was excellent (I did add 1/4 c of water as many reviewers suggested). The breast came out a little too dry for my liking. I think I'll follow a few of the other reviewer's suggestions and cook more slowly next time. Maybe even in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kricket2571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used 8 skinless bone-in chicken thighs, 3 garlic cloves (left them in), and a sprinkle of sugar, simmered for an hour. Those were the only changes. Thanks for a simple, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe. I modified by browning the chicken first and I used an entire head of garlic. Simple and the family loved it. The family pack of chicken thighs was gobbled up. That is 3 per family member! 10 thumbs up from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Tried this recipe out today and my filipino friend loooved it, and he is a mighty good cook. He even said my adobo was better than his! It was really simple to make, the only change I made was to use the rice vinegar instead. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States