Chicken Adobo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
My husband's grandma came from the filipines so she makes the best food. She will not share any of her recipes with anyone, I feel that my husband and children are missing out on one of their native foods so I took it upon myself to make it for them, my husband said it was just as good though. We will never tell her that though! I would recommend marinating at least 2 hours and slow cooking as long as you possibly can stretch it out without overcooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Would suggest using whole peppercorns and adding a tablespoon or two of sugar to cut acidity. When I cook adobo, I let it boil until the chicken is tender, then fry the chicken in a separate pan to make it crispy. I then add about half of the remaining sauce plus a few cloves of browned garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I have family from the Phillipines who make this on a regular basis and have taught me how. although the recipe is good you really don't need that much vinegar unless you really like the strong flavor. I used less and it was wonderful for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is a keeper. 4 modifications I made were substituting rice vinegar instead of white vinegar, added 1 tsp of ground ginger, added 3 crushed garlic cloves and added one cup of water. Definitely take the bay leaves out but leave the garlic in. I let it all boil covered for 30 minutes. This served over steamed rice was so good! Next time I'll take the skins off to cut back on fat but thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOWARRIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
Finally, I have made my Filipino husband happy. After trying to make this several other times using different recipes, I found a winner. My husband was so impressed and I thought it tasted great. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This is the best recipe for Chicken Adobo I've used. I've tried quite a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
instead of apple cider viniger, use seasoned gourmet rice viniger...it changes the taste to sweet instead of tangy... An americanized version that fil-am kids like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Excellent chicken and a great change from southern fried chicken. I found the garlic rice on this site a great side to this chicken and felt like I was eating in a Philippine restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This was pretty good- two things I'll do differently next time: 1. Cook it in the crock pot (We were wishing it was a bit more tender). 2. Add something to thicken the sauce into a gravy (flour or xanthan gum). I ended up grabbing some turkey gravy powder and throwing that in to thicken up the watery sauce, and that was good but pretty salty! Other than that, it had a wonderful flavor and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This was my first time making Chicken Adobo..and I must admit, it has a taste that requires a little getting used to. My older kids hated it (that includes the Hubby). I will try it again and adjust the vinegar and soy and see if I can come up with a compromise they like. Otherwise this is a dish for me and the baby....he will eat almost anything and I am always looking for a new exciting way to cook chicken. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States