Chicken Adobo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My quest for the perfect adobo recipe continues. This one came pretty close; using apple cider vinegar in place of white vinegar gave it a slight sweetness that I found appealing. I would add whole peppercorns next time, and a teaspoon of tomato paste is an option if you want to give it a tangy kick; otherwise, this was about as close to authentic as I've been able to find. Note: I actually substituted pork for the chicken, though either will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Very good! Only thing I changed was use Rice Vinegar instead of Apple Cider Vinegar. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRADOMG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was very enjoyable. Not having the apple cider vinegar I subbed with rice vinegar. I think that was a good choice. It wasn't acidic as others stated. Quite good! I marinated it for about an hour before putting the chicken in the skillet. It took more like 45 minutes than 20 minutes to cook but it sure made the house smell good! Will use again. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is great! Thank you. I just made a couple of changes. For a 5 pound bird cut up I used 3/4 cup soy sauce, 3/4 cup vinegar, marinated for 2 hours with 1 clove of garlic chopped. Added 1 tsp ground ginger, 4 dried red peppers, and 2 sliced onions after adding the chicken to the hot oil. I also left the garlic in. My family loves the sauce over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I added more things for this recipe:onions, to make it more flavorful, red pepper flakes, because I like spicy, and I added brown sugar to make it a little bit sweeter. I also added ginger and lemon grass. Hmmm.. So good! I will definitely make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerAvi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was delicious! We did a few things differently: we used boneless skinless thighs, added about 1/6 cup of brown sugar, and added carrots, and onion and potatoes. This is our new adobo recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Love this dish! It's also good made w/ white vinegar or rice vinegar. Some people might not like the acidity, but I love that vinegary tang
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This is one of my family's favorite recipes. We double the amount of sauce so we have extra for the left-over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATZ63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States