Chicken Adobo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is a keeper. 4 modifications I made were substituting rice vinegar instead of white vinegar, added 1 tsp of ground ginger, added 3 crushed garlic cloves and added one cup of water. Definitely take the bay leaves out but leave the garlic in. I let it all boil covered for 30 minutes. This served over steamed rice was so good! Next time I'll take the skins off to cut back on fat but thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOWARRIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I love adobo I have tried other recipes in the past from this site but this is by far the best one. I made a few modifications I added about a tsp of fresh grated ginger to the sauce, I used about 15-20 whole peppercorns, I used tysons frozen chicken wings (as suggested by another reviewer)and I marinated the chicken for about 5 hrs. Thanks for the wonderful adobo recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This is the second time I made this recipe...don't know what I did different but it came out better than the first time. My ex came over the night after, ate the leftovers, and DIDN'T WANT TO GO HOME...hahahaha :) Oh yeah...instead of using a whole chicken cut into pieces, I use Tyson frozen chicken wings...they are smaller and much easier to cook with. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Very easy and quick to make. I didn't care much for it, but my family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Was not bad, but not the greatest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This was good for a quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This was pretty good- two things I'll do differently next time: 1. Cook it in the crock pot (We were wishing it was a bit more tender). 2. Add something to thicken the sauce into a gravy (flour or xanthan gum). I ended up grabbing some turkey gravy powder and throwing that in to thicken up the watery sauce, and that was good but pretty salty! Other than that, it had a wonderful flavor and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This was my first time making Chicken Adobo..and I must admit, it has a taste that requires a little getting used to. My older kids hated it (that includes the Hubby). I will try it again and adjust the vinegar and soy and see if I can come up with a compromise they like. Otherwise this is a dish for me and the baby....he will eat almost anything and I am always looking for a new exciting way to cook chicken. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Very good! I have tried several recipes, and this one was one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This is the first Filipino dish I've ever made. My husband is Filipino and said this was a great meal. It's pretty easy and tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States