Chicken Adobo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, and although not in the recipe, I added an onion and about half a chopped red pepper I had on hand. Also, I put back the garlic towards the end, mainly because I love garlic and hate to throw out food! I steamed some white rice in the rice cooker and used the steamer basket to make some broccoli too, just for extra veggie benefits. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Great recipe and so easy. I double everything except the chicken so we have plenty of juice to drizzle over our rice. I also use boneless skinless breasts to make it kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
actually there are different ways of cooking adobo. each is unique and equally delicious, depending on the taster. believe me, i've been cooking this dish since i was 10 and it's the first dish i learned to cook. if you think ordinary vinegar with high amount of acidity is overwhelming, try using balsamic. and if you like a little variety put oystersauce to thicken the sauce. i would sometimes add red wine, if i want a fancier version. if you use wine cut down on the vinegar. one tip for beginners you dont have to follow the exact amount of seasonings like salt, pepper, vinegar, soy sauce. to each his own. try tasting as you go along, you can always add. and when you're dealing with vinegar, wait for the mixture to boil til you stir or else you'll end up having uncooked vinegar in your dish. sometimes that's the reason for the overpowering smell even if the dish is already cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I altered this slightly because I didn't have any apple cider vinegar. I used red wine vinegar and it turned out great. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I am willing to try this recipe. Although, when I make my Chicken Adobo. I add all the ingredients to the pot, minus the oil, and slowly let the chicken cook on medium heat. I've learned to use Aloha Shoyu. It's my Hawaiian roots, it gives it a better taste, than if you were to use kikoman or any other version....I also use chicken thighs, with the bones, but you can also use boneless chicken thights....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2tee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was ok. It definitely needs low-sodium soy sauce because it was quite salty. Overall though, I liked that it had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was just ok. I used other's suggestions for Seasoned Rice Vinegar, kept in garlic...BUT it was just chicken in rice. The soy sauce flavor over-powered everything else. I use a marinade for salmon that tastes just like this and the only ingredients that are the same are the garlic and the soy sauce. I probably won't make this again unless I get desperate for a different chicken taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Thank you for the recipe - this was delicious. I made a few alterations that I felt added more flavor - I kept the garlic in since I love the taste of garlic, I substituted the apple cider vinegar with white wine vinegar, and added more portions of the soy sauce and vinegar to create a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Made this in the crockput for tonights dinner, except I used pork and followed another reviewers suggestion of the rice vinegar....It came out perfect. I served it on Indian frybread with lettuce, tomato, and chives as a topping....PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
My whole family liked this one.......a lot. My daughter tore into like there was no tomorrow. You'd have thought it was a last meal or something but she is a big fan of chicken. This is a really good change of taste from the same ol' same ol'. Very good thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States