Chicken Adobo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I'm Filipino-Amer. and I like to try other adobo recipes. This recipe needed some adjustments to it. Salt didn't need to be added because the soysauce is salty enough-the water didn't need to be added because it waters down the flavor and adding 1 to 2 bay leaves are a big part of this recipe. There are also several variations to cooking this recipe. Traditional stove top cooking can be messy so baking is great, leave the skin side up and broil for 10 mins, crunchy chicken skin is "ono" (delicious) and the crockpot is the other alternative cooking method. For those of us who work and just want to come home and EAT. I hope this was helpful : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I've watched my Filipino friends countless times fix Chicken Adobo. This recipe is very good. I personally skin whole pieces of chicken and place them in a baking pan. Mix up the vinegar/soy sauce/juice of one lime/5 bay leaves/4 pods of minced garlic/ 1/3 cup of cooking oil and water.. like a marinade. Then pour this mixture over the chicken.. cover and bake. The chicken comes out VERY tender and full of flavor. The juices in the pan are used as a topping to hot jasmine rice. This is a one pan dish in our house and fixed at least 3 times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Chicken Adobo is delicious when it's done well, and I learned while working in a Filipino restaurant. The chef uses sherry vinegar instead of plain. While the dish is generally characterized by saltiness (Filipinos love salty and sweet flavors), it shouldn't be overwhelmingly salty so you should be able to cut the salt. The sherry vinegar really makes it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I tried this recipe at home and asked my filipino friend to come over for dinner. She didn't want to like my chicken adobo, because it was way too salty and something wasn't right with the taste. She told me that I could eliminate the water, add onions, and adjust the amount of soy sauce to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Pretty good recipe for people who have never had adobo, but if you want true filipino adobo, this is not it. Too much water, ended up stewy/soupy! I tried to boil some off but it was just not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
My boyfriend loves this dish. Everytime I want to get in his good side I just make this and he's putty in my hands. hehehehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This recipe was very good, I took the advice from one of the reviews to not add salt, and I believe that helped. It was fine without. I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I could never get this recipe right, so I finally looked it up. I liked this one because of its simplicity, but I did tweak it a bit with the advice of everyone before me...first I sauted the garlic and onion, added my chicken to brown and then seasoned with pepper...NO SALT. Then added apple cider vinegar and lite soy in the amounts given. I added water to cover the chicken (didn't measure), added a huge bay leaf (or 2 small ones) and the juice of a lime. I let simmer on medium for 25-30 minutes until the juices reduced...I could hear the pot sizzling...that's how reduced. We all loved it...not too salty and the hint of lime is beautiful. Thanks to everyone for their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Love this recipe, I make this in the Mess and in much larger quantities (50 people) and the customers love it. Only thing i change is the amount of Soy Sauce and Salt, but that is due to the large amount made. Have also made this for my parents and friends and they love it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Military Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I thought this had a great flavor. I gave it 4*'s because it was to salty, but nothing I can't adjust next time. This one is a keeper for my family. I may try the baking idea or at least browning the chicken first. I thought it was kind of a pain to take it out to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States