Chicken Adobo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Way too salty!!! This dish was indelible when following the original recipe and I am not a picky eater. My whole family could barely swallow a few bites because the salt was so high. It tasted like you we're eating salt by the teaspoons. The flavored may have been great if we had eliminated the salt altogether. I will try again with NO salt and see if that makes a difference. I can always add more salt later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was okay, but not the Adobo I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Whoa! Way too much salt! My poor family tried their hardest to pretend to like it. Cut out the salt and add some corn starch to thicken up the sauce. There's enough salt in the soy sauce but you can always add more if you think it needs it. The flavor wasn't bad but it's very hard to get past all the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Absolute delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I always add chicken livers to my adobo. Cook them with the chicken, but mash some of it and put it together with the liquid and bring to a boil, return the chicken and liver and simmer until the sauce thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marynolski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
4 stars cause of the salt...don't need it...good base recipe though! I add jalepenos while I am browning the chicken. I also had a lime laying around, squeezed in the juice as suggested by another reviewer and it was very good. We all love Adobo, works great with pork as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I could never get this recipe right, so I finally looked it up. I liked this one because of its simplicity, but I did tweak it a bit with the advice of everyone before me...first I sauted the garlic and onion, added my chicken to brown and then seasoned with pepper...NO SALT. Then added apple cider vinegar and lite soy in the amounts given. I added water to cover the chicken (didn't measure), added a huge bay leaf (or 2 small ones) and the juice of a lime. I let simmer on medium for 25-30 minutes until the juices reduced...I could hear the pot sizzling...that's how reduced. We all loved it...not too salty and the hint of lime is beautiful. Thanks to everyone for their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Growing up in Japan my parents always experimented with Asian dishes. I've been eating this for 20 years. But we make it a little differently. We start by sauteeing a sliced sweet onion in a couple T of olive oil with some minced garlic and brown the chicken parts in this mixture. Then we add the vinegar, soy sauce, some brown sugar, bay leaf, and water. When it's done we eat it over sticky white rice. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I did omit the salt as previous reviewers had mentioned and it was fine. I also used Chicken breasts because I prefer white meat. Instead of vegetable oil, I used olive oil. I served this with couscous and it was quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
i didn't evaporate the water enough.. but it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States