Chicken A La Orange Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this tonight, 02/04/2011. I was happy with the way it turned out. I read most of the reviews and everyone seemed to say it was lacking something or it was too tangy. I had cooked chicken breasts that had been seasoned with Ms. Dash and I used those. I just started the recipe at the sauce and added the chicken to it until heated through. I tasted the sauce and I did end up adding some brown sugar (2 tbsp) as others did. I doubled the ginger, added 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, and 1/4 tsp crushed rosemary. BINGO! Very yummy. I served this with green beans and red skin mashed potatoes. I loved dipping my taters in the sauce. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
easy to make and taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meepandsnooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very yummy flavour! I would say the longer you marinate the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I was looking for a non-Asian orangey chicken, and this is beautiful on the plate, but as others have said, bland. We ended up splashing soy sauce over the chicken on our plates and that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I used whole chicken breasts and just cooked them a little longer in the oil before adding the rest of the ingrediants. I also added garlic powder and onion powder to the chicken before cooking it. It was not bland like the other reviewers say. This was VERY YUMMY and we will be having it on a regular basis. I serves it with Rice Pilaf & mixed vegis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrisnaA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I agree with others, this is pretty bland. I'd like to try it again with some garlic and some spice. I served it with Orzo and spinach. Actually, it's the creamed spinach from here, but I followed some of the suggestions and made it without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisnaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was sooooo yummy..I wanted to do something alittle differant with chicken.This was the ticket.The only thing differant i would do next time would be cut up my chicken into smaller bit size pieces.we served this with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qteepieinvegas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Something is missing. Even with the addition of cayenne pepper and garlic it was just overpowered by the amount of orange juice. Hubby give it 3 stars but I think he was being generous. If (big if) I try again will need to layer more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe is really good considering it's nutritional value. The chicken has no flavor though. I added sliced apples to the sauce for a little extra texture.will make again but I suggest marinating the chicken overnight with mild seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
THis was a good way to use my fresh oranges that I had on hand that weren't going to b eaten. I substituted fresh minced ginger instead of ground because I had it on hand. We enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomom1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States