Chicago Style Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I was born and raised 20 min. outside of chicago and stuffed pizza is my absolute fav. this recipe is really good. those who are comparing their results to a restaurant aren't really being fair. most chicago restaurants have special ovens. it makes a difference. the only changes i would make is to add red peppers and fresh garlic and basil. The cornmeal is essential to a crisp crust. I get the best results using a cast iron skillet. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchmom33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I really liked this one. Although I have never had an actual Chicago pizza so I don't know how this compares. But for a great dinner that the whole family will eat, it's great! I used a different crust recipe (Bread machine pizza crust) which was outstanding by the way....and followed the recipe for the rest of this pizza. I used the idea of the springform pan (thanks...it worked great!!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
We love Giordano's pizza so I was excited to try this recipe. I followed the suggestion to omit cornmeal, add extra oil and shorten kneading time as this definitely resonates with my memories of Giordano's. The first try turned out well enough to warrant a second. I recommend using bread flour to make the dough less sticky and adding extra sauce; however the tomato sauce in the recipe didn't appeal to me and my commercially-prepared sauce didn't mesh well with the rest of the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cheated, used store bought fresh pizza dough. Cut it half, ratio of about 60/40[60 on the bottom, 40 on the top] Used a spring form pan. Put slices of mozzerela on the bottom, then I put all of our favorites in it.Laid the top of the pizza crust on. Then used sauce and more cheese. Might not be true Chicago Style, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
We just had Giordano's a week ago during a trip to Chicago, and tried to duplicate it. We came up with our own filling, but basically just used the dough recipe. I needed to add more flour to the dough, because it seemed too sticky, but other than that, had no trouble with the dough and it baked up fine. I used a stoneware deep dish pan and had plenty of dough. Using a heavy pan like that I think also makes it less likely to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Too bad there is no stars! The dough is over raised and gummy and the filling isn't very creative and sort of gloppy. I've been making deep dish using Uno's and Lou Malnetti's recipe for years and the proper way to make deep dish is a richer crust, cheese tiled on top, Italian sausage,toppings, chunky seasoned crushed whole tomatoes and sprinkled with Parm.cheese. This is the pizza Chicago is known for(the top crust is an infatuation with some pizza places for variety).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
For a quick and easy version of this, I used 2 packages of "just add water" pizza crusts and a spring form pan. I followed the filling or stuffing recipe as listed. press one crust to the bottom and a little up the sides of the lightly greased spring form pan and toss in the 450 oven's middle rack for 4 minutes. Roll out the second crust so that it will be large enough to blanket the stuffing and reach the edges of the pan and apply it to the top of the 1st crust over the filling. I dipped the handle end of a wooden spoon in flour and used it to firmly press the top crust down to meet the bottom crust all around the edges. Cut 3, 2 inch slits in the top for ventilation. Bake on the near top rack of the oven for 15 mins. or until top crust is very slightly browned in spots. Open a an 8oz. can of pizza sauce and add 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar. Pull pizza from the oven reinforce the 3 ventilation slits and put 1/2 the sauce on top. Place pizza back in oven on middle rack for 5-7 minutes. Pull the pizza out and apply the remaining sauce to the top and sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese. Cool for a few minutes and devour. I don't know if I'd call this Chicago style, but I live here and if I want delicious pizza I don't cook, I go to Pequod's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
For me this recipe was a total disaster. The crust was soggy underneath, (Even though I baked it first for 4 minutes.) and burnt and black on top. The pizza was very oily, and I had to constantly interupt the baking in order to pour the grease out of the sides as if it were meat loaf. I didn't cut the garlic fine enough so there were several 'hot' spots in the pizza. At the end I had to toss the whole thing out. But I love Chicago Style Pizza, so I refuse to give up. I'll definitely try this recipe again, and I'll post if I get better results. EDIT: I just wanted to add, that I do not blame the recipe for my hishap at all. I'm a beginner cook and still learning. I will definitely try this recipe again, hopefully with better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I used Jay's Signature Crust also per reviews. I used 8x8 pan, too small. Next time 13x9. My 8x8 was packed with all these ingredients. Very yummy! I'll have to adjust the amounts to fit a 13x9. I love pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
We really enjoyed this recipe, as I love to make unusual pizzas for my family. I used a combination of ground beef and hot italian sausage for a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States