Chicago Style Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
My son goes to college at Northwestern in the Chicago area, so when he was home for a visit, I wanted to make an authentic stuffed pizza like the ones he enjoyed so much there. This was a good recipe but we have some suggestions for improvement. We thought the pizza dough would be better without the cornmeal and prefer our traditional pizza dough recipe. Also, there was a complaint that there was not enough mozzarella cheese. My sister, who lived in Chicago for years, said, "Whatever it is, it's good," which suggested it was not quite like the Chicago stuffed pizzas she'd had. Also, I think it would be better to add the tomato sauce on during the last 5 to ten minutes of cooking so it retains the rich red color and does not look browned and dry, and it could use a sprinkle of parmesan on top. As I made the recipe, my son advised me that sliced tomatoes must be included in the filling, and that was very good. The next night, I tried it again, and this time made a sauteed fresh spinach, onion, and mushroom filling (not forgetting the sliced tomatoes), my usual pizza dough recipe, and a spaghetti sauce topping added during the last 10 minutes, more cheese, and it was given far better reviews. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I came up with a great idea! Use a springform (aka cheesecake) pan! This recipe is a little big for a 9 inch springform so don't use all of the dough. When the pizza is done all you have to do is take off the side of the pan and slide the pizza on a cutting board. I used onion, red bell pepper, mushrooms and thawed, drained frozen spinich in my pizza. YUM This recipe took me much longer than the estimate given, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Because I read a previous review stating that there wasn't enough dough for a deep dish pan, I used the recipe that came with my pan for the crust. Everything else was the same and I loved it. My husband who isn't that fond of pizza even liked it. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I was born and raised 20 min. outside of chicago and stuffed pizza is my absolute fav. this recipe is really good. those who are comparing their results to a restaurant aren't really being fair. most chicago restaurants have special ovens. it makes a difference. the only changes i would make is to add red peppers and fresh garlic and basil. The cornmeal is essential to a crisp crust. I get the best results using a cast iron skillet. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchmom33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My children LOVED this pizza! I am however wondering when to use the 2 tbsp of oil...as it's not stated in the directions. I am from a suburb of Chicago (born & raised) and frequent the city quite often (especially in my younger days) and I am TOTALLY going to have to disagree with MEMIAN, that Chicagoans have to eat tomatoes on their pizza....wrong, that's like saying that we ALL love the cold & snow. There are plenty of pizzarias that serve pizza like this here in Chicago. This is a great recipe, I again used my corning ware quiche pan, however I think it's about time for me to invest in a pizza pan. The kids & I thank you Mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Too bad there is no stars! The dough is over raised and gummy and the filling isn't very creative and sort of gloppy. I've been making deep dish using Uno's and Lou Malnetti's recipe for years and the proper way to make deep dish is a richer crust, cheese tiled on top, Italian sausage,toppings, chunky seasoned crushed whole tomatoes and sprinkled with Parm.cheese. This is the pizza Chicago is known for(the top crust is an infatuation with some pizza places for variety).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
The pizza I made using the filler from this recipe (though tweaked just a bit) turned out great! I did use the "Jay's Signature Pizza Crust" recipe for my pizza crust, and I used the "Easy Pizza Sauce III" recipe for my pizza sauce (though I tweaked the sauce a little by only using 2 teaspoons of oregano, adding 2 teaspoons of basil, and adding 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar). I also used about 14 to 15 ounces of mozzarella cheese instead of the 9 ounces this recipe called for. And I put a layer of ricotta cheese down on the pizza crust before adding the rest of the filler. Finally, I only made a pepperoni pizza, instead of using all of the vegetables this recipe called for. The combination of these three recipes, with the few minor tweaks I made, made for an EXCELLENT pizza!!! Very, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
i am from chicago and this is a good recipe just about as good as geodarnos they have the best stuffed pizza. a good pan to use is a basic cake pan my deepdish pizza pan was way too big for this and i also used a differnt sauce i used the "easy pizza sauce" recipe by Frank Sweterlitsch found on this site it makes a little more then needed but you can save the rest for your next pizza. also in the stuffed pizza you can change the stuffing and take the meat out and make it vegi or justall meat or just all chease i have had it may ways from the restraunts. vegi is my favorte. (even though i dont like vegis that much) you can put the onins green pepres and other vegis. its basicly just a pizza so put what you want in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Fantastic! Instead of using the crust recipe included, I used Jay's Signature Pizza crust in my 10 inch springform pan (it makes serving a snap.)My only change was to garnish the top with another cup of cheese, a few green onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was born and raised in chicago,and I will say this is a very good recipe. Even in Chicago you will find no two restaurants that make the same stuffed pizza. My husband and I can't agree, Carmen's or Lou Malnatis. This recipe has worked great for me and every time I have made it I was told it was the Best pizza they had ever eaten. This recipe was an excellent base, be creative. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States