Chicago Style Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2001
The recipe didn't say what size pan to use. I used a 10x12. After 30 minutes the bottom crust had burned. The top part tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
A little time consuming but worth the wait. My Husband loved it, and so did my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This wasn't really that good. It had a weird flavor and was too messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
i am from chicago and this is a good recipe just about as good as geodarnos they have the best stuffed pizza. a good pan to use is a basic cake pan my deepdish pizza pan was way too big for this and i also used a differnt sauce i used the "easy pizza sauce" recipe by Frank Sweterlitsch found on this site it makes a little more then needed but you can save the rest for your next pizza. also in the stuffed pizza you can change the stuffing and take the meat out and make it vegi or justall meat or just all chease i have had it may ways from the restraunts. vegi is my favorte. (even though i dont like vegis that much) you can put the onins green pepres and other vegis. its basicly just a pizza so put what you want in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was born and raised in chicago,and I will say this is a very good recipe. Even in Chicago you will find no two restaurants that make the same stuffed pizza. My husband and I can't agree, Carmen's or Lou Malnatis. This recipe has worked great for me and every time I have made it I was told it was the Best pizza they had ever eaten. This recipe was an excellent base, be creative. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I came up with a great idea! Use a springform (aka cheesecake) pan! This recipe is a little big for a 9 inch springform so don't use all of the dough. When the pizza is done all you have to do is take off the side of the pan and slide the pizza on a cutting board. I used onion, red bell pepper, mushrooms and thawed, drained frozen spinich in my pizza. YUM This recipe took me much longer than the estimate given, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My children LOVED this pizza! I am however wondering when to use the 2 tbsp of oil...as it's not stated in the directions. I am from a suburb of Chicago (born & raised) and frequent the city quite often (especially in my younger days) and I am TOTALLY going to have to disagree with MEMIAN, that Chicagoans have to eat tomatoes on their pizza....wrong, that's like saying that we ALL love the cold & snow. There are plenty of pizzarias that serve pizza like this here in Chicago. This is a great recipe, I again used my corning ware quiche pan, however I think it's about time for me to invest in a pizza pan. The kids & I thank you Mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Because I read a previous review stating that there wasn't enough dough for a deep dish pan, I used the recipe that came with my pan for the crust. Everything else was the same and I loved it. My husband who isn't that fond of pizza even liked it. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. We are sauce lovers, so I added some store bought pizza sauce. I also used an extra large pie plate, but there was too much dough. A pizza pan will be added to my Christmas list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very good! Simple to make and very tasty. Except for the veggies (heaven forbid!) even the World's Pickiest Eater liked it. Will definitely use again, sans veggies to please him. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States