Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made this as is, except I substituted green peppers for the mushrooms and added some Penzey's frozen pizza seasoning. I also doubled the fennel per another reviewer's suggestions. Used a glass 9x13 pan and baked for about 40 minutes. Crust was perfect! My husband enjoyed. This will be going in the recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I followed the recipe as written except replaced fennel with dried tarragon, because I didn't have fennel seeds, and it was delicious. I didn't drain the tomatoes and just reduced the liquid on the stove. This is a very tasty recipe and easy to make. I baked it in a stoneware 9x13 pan and extended bake time about 7 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Big fan of Chicago style deep dish, and a bigger fan of simple recipes. This recipe has it locked up on the easy part (but I do get frustrated when a recipe has an item - olive oil - on the list but doesn't have it in the directions). I made this as shown with the necessary addition of cooking crust first for 15 minutes. I enjoyed this, but it just seemed to miss a little something. Next time I willL 1) use some fresh garlic, 2) replace about 1/4-1/2 of the tomatoes with a little bit of tomato sauce to thicken that topping up just a tad, 3) omit the fennel (only because I'm not a big fennel fan, 4) throw in a bit more salt. As for the meat, I'm sure you can swap with your favorite pizza topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Pretty good. Lots of bread and cheese, so if that what you like you'll love it. Next time I'll add more toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
What a great inspiration this recipe is. I had never thought of using frozen bread dough for pizza. I was really happy with how my pizza came out. I rubbed my frozen dough with olive oil and placed it in a glass pan covered with plastic wrap also rubbed with the olive oil left over on my hands, then I went to work. When I came home, the dough had expanded considerably and it was very easy to work with, light and fluffy (I still put some flour on my cutting board before rolling it out). I sprayed my skillet with non-stick cooking spray before putting the dough in, then I baked it in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes. I mashed frozen meatballs in simmering pizza sauce and I made this my first layer followed by mozza, pepperoni, and mushrooms then a sprinkle of parmesan. I baked it for another 20 minutes at 375. Came out really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have made this several times, and every time I thought it would make a great pasta as well. So last night I did just that - used gnocchi instead of crust and did not drain my tomatoes, otherwise exactly the same. YUM! The gnocchi gives it the bite of the missing crust, and the juice made for fantastic dipping with warm bread on the side. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Danno
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. I've been craving a Chicago Style deep dish pizza for a while now, and this fit the bill! A couple of recommendations: If using a 10" cast iron skillet, cut the filling ingredients in half (except the cheese, you can never have too much cheese). I also added green peppers and pepperoni to the mix. I also buttered the crust after I removed the pizza from the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Family loves this pizza! They say it's better than the restaurants. I use a cast iron skillet and it comes out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
There must be a secret to stretching dough that I am unaware of but this was the hardest meal I've tried to make in a long time. I wanted to rip my hair out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
YES! This is THE BEST pizza of any kind I have EVER had! Very thick and heavy, so a little goes a long way! I would take the suggestion of one of the reviewers and cook the crust a little before adding the ingredients. We ended up having to cook ours about ten minutes longer than suggested. It's WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States