Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Made this pizza for my family and it was a major hit. I've also tried changing the toppings around...but this is a great start! Tonight...i'm making it just as is. However some nights when I don't have all the ingredients...I will add other toppings. This is the only pizza recipe I use now!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe was awesome! I was worried about making it for my family cuz they don't like to try any new things but they absolutely loved it! And so did I! I was suprised to because I'm such a picky eater, but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I changed it a bit, I only put half as much olive oil on and used about 1/2 cup pizza sauce. What a good recipe! That fresh parmesan is what makes the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I thought this was an excellent pizza. I used a round deep dish baker and I had left overs. Plus the dough didn't cook as quickly as it should have. Next time I will definitely do it in a 9x13 as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I am looking for a good deep dish pizza recipe but was very disappointed with this one. It was bread with pizza toppings covering it. I had difficulty getting the bread to cook completely and found it gummy and unappealing. I can see how it would be a great advantage over dough made from yeast, but if you really want great pizza you need to take the time to make your own dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I don't really ever leave reviews, but this one deserved it! This is my favorite recipe, and I make it once a week for my husband and myself. It's even better heated up as a leftover! I doubled the fennel seed and I don't use all the tomatoes. Make very sure you drain the tomatoes well, or else your pizza will be a little soggy. Yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This is our family's favorite "at-home" pizza! Definitely a taste of Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
The dough makes THREE pizzas in a 9 inch cake pan (I read the other's troubles with the too thick bread). I also used whole wheat flour to make it more nutritious, and I put cheese on the dough, then a layer of veggies, then homemade tomato sauce on top with a little parmesan cheese. It was absolutely delish. I can't comment on the taste of the dough according to the recipe because wheat flour has its own taste, but it did taste like it was missing a little something. All in all, I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I have made this recipe many, many times and my family loves it. I cook the dough/pizza crust first for about 15 minutes, then add all the toppings. I continue baking for about another 20 or so minutes, until the crust is golden brown and toppings are all melted and bubbly, that the crust comes out better to our liking. It works for us and you then don't have to worry about whether the crust is cooked through in the middle of your pizza. We also make this in a deep dish pizza pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
855 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
The family loved it, but I will drain the tomatoes better next time. Too much liquid. I will also add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States