Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Pretty good. Lots of bread and cheese, so if that what you like you'll love it. Next time I'll add more toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
What a great inspiration this recipe is. I had never thought of using frozen bread dough for pizza. I was really happy with how my pizza came out. I rubbed my frozen dough with olive oil and placed it in a glass pan covered with plastic wrap also rubbed with the olive oil left over on my hands, then I went to work. When I came home, the dough had expanded considerably and it was very easy to work with, light and fluffy (I still put some flour on my cutting board before rolling it out). I sprayed my skillet with non-stick cooking spray before putting the dough in, then I baked it in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes. I mashed frozen meatballs in simmering pizza sauce and I made this my first layer followed by mozza, pepperoni, and mushrooms then a sprinkle of parmesan. I baked it for another 20 minutes at 375. Came out really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have made this several times, and every time I thought it would make a great pasta as well. So last night I did just that - used gnocchi instead of crust and did not drain my tomatoes, otherwise exactly the same. YUM! The gnocchi gives it the bite of the missing crust, and the juice made for fantastic dipping with warm bread on the side. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Danno
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. I've been craving a Chicago Style deep dish pizza for a while now, and this fit the bill! A couple of recommendations: If using a 10" cast iron skillet, cut the filling ingredients in half (except the cheese, you can never have too much cheese). I also added green peppers and pepperoni to the mix. I also buttered the crust after I removed the pizza from the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Family loves this pizza! They say it's better than the restaurants. I use a cast iron skillet and it comes out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
There must be a secret to stretching dough that I am unaware of but this was the hardest meal I've tried to make in a long time. I wanted to rip my hair out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
YES! This is THE BEST pizza of any kind I have EVER had! Very thick and heavy, so a little goes a long way! I would take the suggestion of one of the reviewers and cook the crust a little before adding the ingredients. We ended up having to cook ours about ten minutes longer than suggested. It's WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this in a 12 inch cast iron pan. I did use pizza dough instead of bread dough so I baked it at 375° for 30 minutes and it worked out very good. This was our first time having Chicago pizza, very filling, we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this recipe as a surprise for my family on a Saturday night; it was the first time I'd made a homemade pan pizza. It was wonderful!! Instead of the frozen loaf of bread, I used the Quick and Easy Pizza Crust found here on allrecipes; it was easy and amazing! My family has requested no more pizza from the local pizza places; only the Chicago-Style Pan Pizza. I omitted the salt and the fennel seed (didn't have the fennel seed) Excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I thought this was delicious! Definitely will continue to bake the crust first and will add more mushrooms. The spices were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaCP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States