Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have made this several times, and every time I thought it would make a great pasta as well. So last night I did just that - used gnocchi instead of crust and did not drain my tomatoes, otherwise exactly the same. YUM! The gnocchi gives it the bite of the missing crust, and the juice made for fantastic dipping with warm bread on the side. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Danno
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. I've been craving a Chicago Style deep dish pizza for a while now, and this fit the bill! A couple of recommendations: If using a 10" cast iron skillet, cut the filling ingredients in half (except the cheese, you can never have too much cheese). I also added green peppers and pepperoni to the mix. I also buttered the crust after I removed the pizza from the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Family loves this pizza! They say it's better than the restaurants. I use a cast iron skillet and it comes out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
There must be a secret to stretching dough that I am unaware of but this was the hardest meal I've tried to make in a long time. I wanted to rip my hair out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
YES! This is THE BEST pizza of any kind I have EVER had! Very thick and heavy, so a little goes a long way! I would take the suggestion of one of the reviewers and cook the crust a little before adding the ingredients. We ended up having to cook ours about ten minutes longer than suggested. It's WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this in a 12 inch cast iron pan. I did use pizza dough instead of bread dough so I baked it at 375° for 30 minutes and it worked out very good. This was our first time having Chicago pizza, very filling, we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this recipe as a surprise for my family on a Saturday night; it was the first time I'd made a homemade pan pizza. It was wonderful!! Instead of the frozen loaf of bread, I used the Quick and Easy Pizza Crust found here on allrecipes; it was easy and amazing! My family has requested no more pizza from the local pizza places; only the Chicago-Style Pan Pizza. I omitted the salt and the fennel seed (didn't have the fennel seed) Excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I thought this was delicious! Definitely will continue to bake the crust first and will add more mushrooms. The spices were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaCP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
It was very good - but I think the name is a bit misleading. It is more like Deep Dish French Bread Pizza. It does call specifically for bread dough, not pizza dough, so keep that in mind before you choose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made this last night and it was gone.....QUICK! I used a pilsbury pizza dough in the tube, sprinkled it with oregano/garlic powder, and pre baked it for 5 mins. Then I put all of the toppings on and baked until the crust was brown and cheese was melted. Although it was very good, it was missing something. I don't know what....garlic maybe? I don't know but I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States